Items related to The Redeemed: The West Country Trilogy

The Redeemed: The West Country Trilogy

4.34 avg rating
( 292 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781526604392: The Redeemed: The West Country Trilogy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A love divided. A world torn in two. A return. A redemption.

A stirring, exquisitely rendered tale of homecoming; the final instalment in Tim Pears's epic West Country Trilogy

It is 1916. Lottie Prideaux rides the winding lanes of her childhood on her motorcycle, defying the expectations of her class and sex as she trains to be a vet. Meanwhile young Leo Sercombe finds himself a long way from home, hauling coal aboard the HMS Queen Mary in the middle of the ocean. Here life is raw, bloody and vivid, with death never more than a heartbeat away.

As Leo and Lottie wander in this strange and brave new world, and as war, loss, violence and betrayal conspire to tear asunder the ties that bind the past, present and future together, can even the most fated of returns - and redemptions - hope to come to pass?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for the West Country Trilogy: 'A gorgeously hypnotic paean to rural England ... Peppered with moments of awestruck wonder at the natural world (Melissa Harrison Guardian)

This intelligent and moving evocation of life on a country estate just before the First World War is both down-to-earth and magical. There are faint echoes of Alain Fournier's masterpiece Le Grand Meaulnes, and there's no higher praise (Allan Massie Sunday Herald, Books of the Year)

Goodness, Tim Pears writes beautifully . the descriptions of rural life, executed with painterly exactness, are a constant delight. The prose really sings (Mail on Sunday)

Tim Pears deserves a place among the best rural writers . Pears is an exemplary historical novelist with a Romantic eye for nature, and this heady walk through the forgotten lanes of England thrums with life. His unsentimental handling of rural poverty precludes any chocolate boxery, yet his evocation of the land's sounds, smells and tastes are a match for any of the great scribes of the countryside (Melissa Katsoulis The Times)

His prose is luminous, drawing in the reader . Pears' fiction has been likened to Thomas Hardy's, and the comparison is apposite. As a coming-of-age novel, it is wise and insightful . And as a portrayal of rural Edwardian England, it is powerful, vivid and humane (Hannah Beckerman Observer)

A classic . Leo and Lottie step out into the world, and twentieth century rushes up to greet them . Knotty and nuanced (Times Literary Supplement)

Loud with brilliantly captured voices and vividly drawn characters . A lyrical journey worth undertaking (Daily Mail)

Clear-sighted storytellers in the tradition of Rosalind Belben and Flora Thompson (and H. E. Bates, when he was writing about poachers rather than Larkins) know that real life in the country is bursting with politics, mystery, sex and death, and all you need to do is describe it beautifully and carefully. Only a few authors are talented or brave enough to do that, and Pears, in his maturity, is one of them ... As a testament to a forgotten generation of countrymen it is unsurpassed and it goes very nicely indeed with a dark night, rain on the windowpane and a cosy armchair (Melissa Katsoulis The Times)

His lyrical but unsentimental portrait of a long-lost rural world, and the characters who are shaped by it, is affecting (Nick Rennison Sunday Times)

Pears's sumptuous but scrupulous descriptions of the countryside are as evocative as Robert Macfarlane's nature writing and as delicious to savour . The final part of this moving, absorbing odyssey cannot arrive quickly enough (Metro)

Book Description:

A love divided. A world torn in two. A return. A redemption.

The final instalment in Tim Pears's spellbinding chronicle of love, exile and belonging in a world on the brink of change

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781526601025: The Redeemed: The West Country Trilogy

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1526601028 ISBN 13: 9781526601025
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019
Hardcover

9781635573824: The Redeemed: The West Country Trilogy

Blooms..., 2019
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Tim Pears
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. SHORTLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE 2020A love divided. A world torn in two. A return. A redemption. A stirring, exquisitely rendered tale of homecoming; the final instalment in Tim Pears's epic West Country TrilogyIt is 1916. Lottie Prideaux rides the winding lanes of her childhood on her motorcycle, defying the expectations of her class and sex as she trains to be a vet. Meanwhile young Leo Sercombe finds himself a long way from home, hauling coal aboard the HMS Queen Mary in the middle of the ocean. Here life is raw, bloody and vivid, with death never more than a heartbeat away.As Leo and Lottie wander in this strange and brave new world, and as war, loss, violence and betrayal conspire to tear asunder the ties that bind the past, present and future together, can even the most fated of returns - and redemptions - hope to come to pass?. Seller Inventory # AA79781526604392

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Pears, Tim
Published by BLOOMSBURY (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 33847663-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.92
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

PEARS TIM
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Puddle
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. pp. 400. Seller Inventory # 26376287890

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Pears, Tim
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New PAP Quantity: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FV-9781526604392

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

PEARS TIM
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Majestic Books
(Hounslow, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. pp. 400. Seller Inventory # 370806093

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Tim Pears
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. SHORTLISTED FOR THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE 2020A love divided. A world torn in two. A return. A redemption. A stirring, exquisitely rendered tale of homecoming; the final instalment in Tim Pears's epic West Country TrilogyIt is 1916. Lottie Prideaux rides the winding lanes of her childhood on her motorcycle, defying the expectations of her class and sex as she trains to be a vet. Meanwhile young Leo Sercombe finds himself a long way from home, hauling coal aboard the HMS Queen Mary in the middle of the ocean. Here life is raw, bloody and vivid, with death never more than a heartbeat away.As Leo and Lottie wander in this strange and brave new world, and as war, loss, violence and betrayal conspire to tear asunder the ties that bind the past, present and future together, can even the most fated of returns - and redemptions - hope to come to pass?. Seller Inventory # FOY9781526604392

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

7.

Tim Pears
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, London (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. A love divided. A world torn in two. A return. A redemption. A stirring, exquisitely rendered tale of homecoming; the final instalment in Tim Pears's epic West Country Trilogy It is 1916. Lottie Prideaux rides the winding lanes of her childhood on her motorcycle, defying the expectations of her class and sex as she trains to be a vet. Meanwhile young Leo Sercombe finds himself a long way from home, hauling coal aboard the HMS Queen Mary in the middle of the ocean. Here life is raw, bloody and vivid, with death never more than a heartbeat away. As Leo and Lottie wander in this strange and brave new world, and as war, loss, violence and betrayal conspire to tear asunder the ties that bind the past, present and future together, can even the most fated of returns - and redemptions - hope to come to pass? Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781526604392

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Tim Pears
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing (UK) 2019-06-13, London (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781526604392

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

PEARS TIM
Published by BLOOMSBURY (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1526604396-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Tim Pears
Published by BLOOMSBURY (2019)
ISBN 10: 1526604396 ISBN 13: 9781526604392
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Romtrade Corp.
(STERLING HEIGHTS, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New Original US Edition.We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option also available for faster delivery.This item may ship from the US or other locations in India depending on your location and availability. Seller Inventory # ABBUN-125218

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book