Date with Malice (The Dales Detective Series)

4.33 avg rating
( 64 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9781509823857: Date with Malice (The Dales Detective Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Date with Malice is the second cosy crime novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series.

It’s dark in the Dales this winter . . .

When Mrs Shepherd arrives at the Dales Detective Agency on a December morning, quite convinced that someone is trying to kill her, Samson O’Brien dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused elderly lady. But after a series of disturbing incidents at Fellside Court retirement home, he begins to wonder if there is something to her claims after all . . .

With Christmas around the corner, Samson is thrown into a complex investigation. One that will require him to regain the trust of the Dales community he turned his back on so long ago. Faced with no choice, he enlists the help of a local – the tempestuous Delilah Metcalfe.

Against the backdrop of a Yorkshire winter, Samson and Delilah must work together once again if they are to uncover the malevolence threatening the elderly residents of Bruncliffe. Could the danger be perilously close to home?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit Source: Northern Echo

A Yorkshire Agatha Raisin Source: Dalesman

Chapman delivers on every level in this intriguing murder mystery . . . a big helping of recognisable small town life, a suitably menacing air of malevolence, an undercurrent of suspense, lashings of Yorkshire wit and a seductively simmering relationship between handsome Sansom and the delightful Delilah. Source: Lancashire Evening Post

Great fun Author: Carol Drinkwater

An engaging cast of characters and a cleverly clued puzzle move Chapman’s debut to the top of the English village murder list Source: Kirkus

As village murder mysteries go, this clever, witty and realistic series is quite out of the ordinary and strongly recommended Author: Crime Review

A classic whodunit featuring two very likeable characters . . . A satisfying read riddled with dry Yorkshire humour (and dry stone walls) Author: Cath Staincliffe

Nicely told and rather charming, so it should give traditionalists hours of innocent delight Source: Literary Review

Book Description:

The second novel in the charming Dales Detective series, for fans of Gervase Phinn.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250109385: Date with Malice: A Samson and Delilah Mystery (Samson and Delilah Mysteries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1250109388 ISBN 13:  9781250109385
Publisher: Minotaur Books, 2018
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Julia Chapman
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Main Market Ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Date with Malice is the second cosy crime novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series.It's dark in the Dales this winter . . . When Mrs Shepherd arrives at the Dales Detective Agency on a December morning, quite convinced that someone is trying to kill her, Samson O'Brien dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused elderly lady. But after a series of disturbing incidents at Fellside Court retirement home, he begins to wonder if there is something to her claims after all . . .With Christmas around the corner, Samson is thrown into a complex investigation. One that will require him to regain the trust of the Dales community he turned his back on so long ago. Faced with no choice, he enlists the help of a local - the tempestuous Delilah Metcalfe.Against the backdrop of a Yorkshire winter, Samson and Delilah must work together once again if they are to uncover the malevolence threatening the elderly residents of Bruncliffe. Could the danger be perilously close to home?. Seller Inventory # AA79781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Chapman, Julia
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 371928961

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Julia Chapman (author)
Published by Macmillan 2017-10-19, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Macmillan 2017-10-19, London, 2017. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Julia Chapman
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. A charming series for fans of Alexander McCall Smith, Robert Galbraith and Midsomer Murders.Date with Malice is the second novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series. When a pensione.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.266. Seller Inventory # 9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Julia Chapman
Published by Pan Macmillan
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Pan Macmillan. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. The second novel in the charming Dales Detective series, for fans of Gervase Phinn. Seller Inventory # B9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Chapman, Julia
Published by Pan Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Pan Books, 2017. Condition: New. Series: The Dales Detective Series. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2017. Main Market Ed. Paperback. . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.59
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Chapman, Julia
Published by Pan Books
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Pan Books. Condition: New. Series: The Dales Detective Series. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. . . 2017. Main Market Ed. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.37
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Chapman, Julia
Published by Pan (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Pan, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0003029482

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Julia Chapman
Published by Macmillan (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Macmillan, 2017. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FV-9781509823857

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Chapman, Julia
ISBN 10: 1509823859 ISBN 13: 9781509823857
New Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1509823859. Seller Inventory # ST1509823859

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book