Solve For Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy

4.07 avg rating
( 743 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781509809936: Solve For Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Solve for Happy is a startlingly original book about creating and maintaining happiness, written by a top Google executive with an engineer's training and fondness for thoroughly analyzing a problem.

In 2001, Mo Gawdat, a remarkable thinker whose gifts had landed him top positions in half a dozen companies and who - in his spare time - had created significant wealth, realized that he was desperately unhappy. A lifelong learner, he attacked the problem as an engineer would, examining all the provable facts and scrupulously following logic. When he was finished, he had discovered the equation for enduring happiness.

Ten years later, that research saved him from despair when his college-aged son, Ali - also intellectually gifted - died during routine surgery. In dealing with the loss, Mo found his mission: he would pull off the type of 'moonshot' that he and his Google [X] colleagues were always aiming for: he would help ten million people become happier by pouring his happiness principles into a book and spreading its message around the world.

One of Solve for Happy's key premises is that happiness is a default state. If we shape expectations to acknowledge the full range of possible events, unhappiness is on its way to being defeated. To steer clear of unhappiness traps, we must dispel the six illusions that cloud our thinking (e.g., the illusion of time, of control, and of fear); overcome the brain's seven deadly defects (e.g., the tendency to exaggerate, label, and filter), and embrace five ultimate truths (e.g., change is real, now is real, unconditional love is real).

By means of several highly original thought experiments, Mo helps readers find enduring contentment by questioning some of the most fundamental aspects of their existence.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A powerful personal story woven with a rich analysis of what we all seek in a way we can act upon (Sergey Brin, co-founder of Google)

He explains how even in the face of the unthinkable, happiness is still possible. (Stylist)

A fun read, with tips for steering clear of 'unhappiness traps'. (The Scotsman)

Book Description:

In the tradition of The Power of Now and The Art of Happiness, and written by Mo Gawdat, Chief Business Officer at Google [X], this is the first-ever attempt to present the equation for being happy - not just intermittently but as a default state of being.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781501157585: Solve for Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1501157582 ISBN 13: 9781501157585
Publisher: Gallery, 2018
Softcover

9781501157554: Solve for Happy: Engineer Your Path to Joy

North ..., 2017
Hardcover

9781501154638: Solve for Happy: Engineering Your Path to Joy

Simon ..., 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Mo Gawdat
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Paperback Quantity available: > 20
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Solve for Happy is a startlingly original book about creating and maintaining happiness, written by a top Google executive with an engineer's training and fondness for thoroughly analyzing.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.460. Seller Inventory # 9781509809936

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

2.

Gawdat, Mo
Published by Bluebird (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Trade Paperback Quantity available: 3
Seller:
Manyhills Books
(Traralgon, VIC, Australia)

Book Description Bluebird, 2017. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. 357 pages. Multiple copies of this title available. This book is an unread copy. Covers have no creasing or wear. Spine is uncreased. Pages are clean and unmarked and in excellent condition. Solve for Happy is a startlingly original book about creating and maintaining happiness, written by a top Google executive with an engineer's training and fondness for thoroughly analyzing a problem. In 2001, Mo Gawdat, a remarkable thinker whose gifts had landed him top positions in half a dozen companies and who - in his spare time - had created significant wealth, realized that he was desperately unhappy. A lifelong learner, he attacked the problem as an engineer would, examining all the provable facts and scrupulously following logic. When he was finished, he had discovered the equation for enduring happiness. Ten years later, that research saved him from despair when his college-aged son, Ali - also intellectually gifted - died during routine surgery. In dealing with the loss, Mo found his mission: he would pull off the type of 'moonshot' that he and his Google [X] colleagues were always aiming for: he would help ten million people become happier by pouring his happiness principles into a book and spreading its message around the world. One of Solve for Happy's key premises is that happiness is a default state. If we shape expectations to acknowledge the full range of possible events, unhappiness is on its way to being defeated. To steer clear of unhappiness traps, we must dispel the six illusions that cloud our thinking (e.g., the illusion of time, of control, and of fear); overcome the brain's seven deadly defects (e.g., the tendency to exaggerate, label, and filter), and embrace five ultimate truths (e.g., change is real, now is real, unconditional love is real). By means of several highly original thought experiments, Mo helps readers find enduring contentment by questioning some of the most fundamental aspects of their existence. Mo Gawdat is a serial entrepreneur and former chief business officer of Google [X]. Through his twelve-year research on the topic of happiness, he created an algorithm and a repeatable engineered model to reach a state of uninterrupted happiness, regardless of circumstance in life. Mo's happiness model proved highly effective and, in 2014, was put to the ultimate test when Mo lost his son Ali to preventable medical error during a simple surgical procedure. Solve For Happy is the pillar for Mo's personal 'moonshot' mission, a mission to deliver his happiness message to one billion people around the world. Quantity Available: 3. Category: Self Help & Motivation; ISBN/EAN: 9781509809936. Inventory No: 20050235. Seller Inventory # 20050235

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.61
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Gawdat Mo, Gawdat Mo
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Quantity available: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 24822940-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Mo Gawdat
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Paperback Quantity available: > 20
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)

Book Description 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Solve for Happy is a startlingly original book about creating and maintaining happiness, written by a top Google executive with an engineer's training and fondness for thoroug.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.460. Seller Inventory # 9781509809936

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 27.71
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

5.

Gawdat, Mo
Published by Macmillan Publishers International|Bluebird (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Kartoniert / Broschiert Quantity available: 3
Seller:
moluna
(Greven, Germany)

Book Description Macmillan Publishers International|Bluebird, 2017. Kartoniert / Broschiert. Condition: New. In the tradition of The Power of Now and The Art of Happiness, and written by Mo Gawdat, Chief Business Officer at Google [X], this is the first-ever attempt to. Seller Inventory # 102324380

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 40.14
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Gawdat, Mo
Published by Bluebird (2017)
ISBN 10: 1509809937 ISBN 13: 9781509809936
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Bluebird, 2017. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. main market ed. edition. 256 pages. 9.06x5.98x1.26 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk1509809937

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
20.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds