Items related to The House Between Tides: WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK...

The House Between Tides: WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018

3.76 avg rating
( 7,205 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781473683143: The House Between Tides: WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018!

*******

'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut...a beautifully crafted novel' - Publishers Weekly

'Lovely atmospheric descriptions of Hebridean light and landscape' - The Scotsman

A captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery...

Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.

With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.

'There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel' The Independent

*previously published as Bhalla Strand*

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Lovely atmospheric descriptions of Hebridean light and landscape (The Scotsman)

There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel (The Independent)

A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! (Ronald Frame, author of The Lantern Bearers and Havisham)

...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine (The Book Bag)

Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel. (Publishers Weekly)

Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes. (Kirkus Reviews)

Book Description:

With echoes of Daphne du Maurier, this is a gorgeously written reading group debut, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Sarah Maine
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, United Kingdom (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018!*******'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut.a beautifully crafted novel' - Publishers Weekly'Lovely atmospheric descriptions of Hebridean light and landscape' - The ScotsmanA captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery.Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.'There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel' The Independent*previously published as Bhalla Strand*. Seller Inventory # AWC9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Sarah Maine
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, United Kingdom (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018!*******'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut.a beautifully crafted novel' - Publishers Weekly'Lovely atmospheric descriptions of Hebridean light and landscape' - The ScotsmanA captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery.Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.'There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel' The Independent*previously published as Bhalla Strand*. Seller Inventory # HUK9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Sarah Maine
Published by Hodder & Stoughton 2018-06-07, London (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

4.

Sarah Maine
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. With echoes of Daphne du Maurier, this is a gorgeously written reading group debut, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Maine, Sarah
Published by Hodder Paperback (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Softcover Quantity: 6
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781473683143_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Maine, Sarah
Published by Hodder General (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Address book Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Address book. Condition: Brand New. 7.80x5.08x0.98 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1473683149

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Sarah Maine
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 4
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. With echoes of Daphne du Maurier, this is a gorgeously written reading group debut, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft. Seller Inventory # B9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Maine, Sarah
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Paperback Quantity: 12
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0006276783

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Maine, Sarah
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. 2018. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.56
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Maine, Sarah
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473683149 ISBN 13: 9781473683143
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 2018. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781473683143

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.98
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book