Items related to Crash Bang Wallop: The Inside Story of London's...

Crash Bang Wallop: The Inside Story of London's Big Bang and a Financial Revolution that Changed the World - Hardcover

3.62 avg rating
( 45 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781473625068: Crash Bang Wallop: The Inside Story of London's Big Bang and a Financial Revolution that Changed the World
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The one book you need to read if you want to understand the financial world.

For fans of Michael Lewis's THE BIG SHORT and Andrew Ross Sorkin's TOO BIG TO FAIL, CRASH BANG WALLOP tells the gripping story of the most daring financial experiment in modern history.

Big Bang was the dramatic moment in October 1986 when London became a testing ground for a new type of global finance. It embodied a wider revolution and the birth of a new age of fully electronic trading, transcontinental commerce and wealth creation on a titanic scale. Big Bang had huge repercussions not just for the world of finance but for culture, society, attitudes to money and value, and how ordinary people around the world lived and worked. These changes mark the moment the modern world was born.

Published on the 30th anniversary of Big Bang, Crash Bang Wallop is the definitive, unflinching story of what really happened during one of the most daring and ambitious financial experiments in history. Drawing on deep archival research and exclusive new interviews, Iain Martin expertly charts the rich history of the City and explores the dramatic upheavals of the '80s and their consequences.


In an afterword titled 'The Fate of the City and the Future of Money', Martin assesses what is next for the City in the wake of Brexit and on the eve of the next revolution in global finance.

For anyone who wants to understand money, markets or the men and women behind it all, this timely, entertaining and revelatory work is essential reading.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Fascinating . . . it is worth raising your eyes from the Brexit mud-slinging to read a new book on the history of the "Big Bang" financial reform . . .UK politicians should take heed of Martin's book. (Financial Times)

An exciting story, told with verve (Sunday Business Post)

With a journalist's eye for a good tale and a narrative style that rips along, Martin has turned an unloved part of British history about an unloved industry into a fascinating yarn. (The Times)

As historical accounts of modern finance go, this is a corker. (Breaking Views Reuters)

For anyone interested in finance . . . this is a readable history of how the City became the world's money hub. (Sunday Times)

Highly readable and well-informed (The National)

It is refreshing to read this lively account of a series of actions that add up to one of the undoubted, if not undisputed, successes of modern government action . . . a timely reminder of how the City of London got to where it is now (New Statesman)

Martin's great trick in the book is his ear for echoes of the present in stories from the past, making the old City feel remarkably familiar today . . . Above all, Martin has a warmth for his subject, and its cast of characters, without excusing their feelings . . . With the journalist's eye for a good tale and a narrative style that rips along, Martin has turned an unloved part of British history about an unloved industry into a fascinating yarn. (Philip Aldrick The Times)

His book confirmed to me that the City is a financial centre like no other (Literary Review)
Book Description:
The gripping story of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', which transformed international business and changed our world, for fans of Michael Lewis' bestselling The Big Short and Liaquat Ahamed's prizewinning Lords of Finance.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherSceptre
  • Publication date2016
  • ISBN 10 1473625068
  • ISBN 13 9781473625068
  • BindingHardcover
  • Number of pages352
  • Rating
    3.62 avg rating
    ( 45 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781473625105: Crash Bang Wallop: The Inside Story of London's Big Bang and a Financial Revolution that Changed the World

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781473625105
Publisher: Sceptre, 2017
Softcover

9781473625075: Crash Bang Wallop: The Inside Story of London's Big Bang and a Financial Revolution that Changed the World

Sceptre, 2016
Softcover

9780827341227: Crash! Bang! (Early Bird Series Big Books)

Charle..., 1991
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Martin, Iain
Published by Sceptre (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 26083872-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
17.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description hardback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. The gripping story of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', which transformed international business and changed our world, for fans of Michael Lewis' bestselling The Big Short and Liaquat Ahamed's prizewinning Lords of Finance. Seller Inventory # B9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
20.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
Published by Hodder and Stoughton (2016)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # HU-9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
21.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Brook Bookstore
(Milano, MI, Italy)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # bff28d916c9edf9d376caa5d330392d2

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
21.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Italy to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
Published by Sceptre 2016-09-08 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCE-9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
20.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Iain Martin
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
CitiRetail
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Hardcover. Published to mark the 30th anniversary of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', CRASH, BANG WALLOP will tell the gripping story of how the changes introduced in the 1980s in the City of London transformed our world.Attitudes to money and the way we measure value and status were completely reshaped by Big Bang, and it had an extraordinary impact on politics, on style, on technology, on the class system, on questions of public ownership, and on the geography of London. Perhaps more than anything, Big Bang revolutionised the international markets, as the capital became a testing ground for financial globalisation, with huge repercussions for the global economy. The definitive insider's account of this critically important moment in modern history, CRASH, BANG WALLOP will also explore what's next for global finance as it gets ready to undergo yet another revolution. The gripping story of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', which transformed international business and changed our world, for fans of Michael Lewis' bestselling The Big Short and Liaquat Ahamed's prizewinning Lords of Finance. Shipping may be from our UK warehouse or from our Australian or US warehouses, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
23.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. The gripping story of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', which transformed international business and changed our world, for fans of Michael Lewis' bestselling The Big Short and Liaquat Ahamed's prizewinning Lords of Finance. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: KCX; KCY; KFF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 166 x 242 x 33. Weight in Grams: 594. . 2018. Hardcover. . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
22.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.57
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. The gripping story of the financial revolution known as 'Big Bang', which transformed international business and changed our world, for fans of Michael Lewis' bestselling The Big Short and Liaquat Ahamed's prizewinning Lords of Finance. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: KCX; KCY; KFF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 166 x 242 x 33. Weight in Grams: 594. . 2018. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
27.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.18
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Iain Martin
Published by Sceptre (2018)
ISBN 10: 1473625068 ISBN 13: 9781473625068
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 352 pages. 9.25x6.25x1.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1473625068

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
25.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book