Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

4.31 avg rating
( 2,196 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781472213303: Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

A Sunday Times bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?

Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.

When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price...

Includes maps, chart and author Q&A.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever (Antonia Senior The Times)

Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended (Parmenion Books)

Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined (Winternights Blog)

Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read (Mail on Sunday)

I don't need this kind of competition (Bernard Cornwell)

Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills (Living History)

An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please! (Elizabeth Chadwick)

Tremendous (Daily Express)

Scarrow's rank with the best (Independent)

Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff (Daily Telegraph)

Book Description:

A Sunday Times top ten bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize. Wintery Roman Britain in AD 52 is the setting for an action-packed novel of courage, camaraderie and warfare from No. 1 bestselling Simon Scarrow, author of INVICTUS and GLADIATOR. The fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781472213327: Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14) (Roman Legion 13)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1472213327 ISBN 13: 9781472213327
Publisher: Headline, 2015
Hardcover

9781472233868: Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Headli..., 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Simon Scarrow
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!A Sunday Times bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price.Includes maps, chart and author Q&A. Seller Inventory # HUK9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Simon Scarrow
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!A Sunday Times bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price.Includes maps, chart and author Q&A. Seller Inventory # HUK9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Scarrow, Simon
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New PAP Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2016. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Simon Scarrow (author)
Published by Headline Publishing Group 2016-04-07, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New paperback Quantity available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group 2016-04-07, London, 2016. paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Scarrow, Simon
Published by Headline (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001905443

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Scarrow, Simon
Published by Headline (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Softcover Quantity available: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline, 2016. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 25024849-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Scarrow, Simon
Published by Headline (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline, 2016. Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1472213300. Seller Inventory # ST1472213300

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Simon Scarrow
Published by Headline 2016-04-07 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline 2016-04-07, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Scarrow, Simon
Published by Headline (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks20
(Goring-By-Sea, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. This is a Brand New book, in perfect condition. Quick dispatch. Seller Inventory # NGR9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Simon Scarrow
Published by Headline 2016-04-07 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472213300 ISBN 13: 9781472213303
New Paperback Quantity available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline 2016-04-07, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCE-9781472213303

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book