Mortimer, Ian The Outcasts of Time

ISBN 13: 9781471146589

The Outcasts of Time

)  
9781471146589: The Outcasts of Time
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

‘Beautifully written and superbly executed’ Times
'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express


From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.
 
John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.
 
As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

What readers are saying:
 
‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden
 
The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads

'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ian Mortimer is the author of the bestselling Time Traveller's Guide series. He is an experienced lecturer and public speaker and regularly appears at literary festivals around the country. He is also writes for the media.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mortimer, Ian
Published by Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN 10: 1471146588 ISBN 13: 9781471146589
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Ltd. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 1471146588_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Mortimer, Ian
Published by Simon & Schuster UK (2018)
ISBN 10: 1471146588 ISBN 13: 9781471146589
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Simon & Schuster UK, 2018. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 400 pages. 7.80x5.12x0.94 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk1471146588

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds