Items related to Dark Fire (The Shardlake series, 2)

Dark Fire (The Shardlake series, 2)

4.29 avg rating
( 25,395 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781447285847: Dark Fire (The Shardlake series, 2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling historical crime novel in the Shardlake series by C. J. Sansom.

It is 1540 and the hottest summer of the sixteenth century. Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister – and a new assignment . . .

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered – the formula has disappeared.

Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .

Continue this gripping historical series with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Historical crime fiction is sometimes little more than a modern adventure in fancy dress. Not so the novels of C. J. Sansom, whose magnificent books set in the reign of Henry VIII bring to life the sounds and smells of Tudor England . . . Dark Fire is a creation of real brilliance. Source: Sunday Times

Sansom gives us a broad view of politics – Tudor housing to rival Rachman, Dickensian prisons, a sewage-glutted Thames, beggars in gutters, conspiracies at court and a political system predicated on birth not merit, intrigue not intelligence . . . like many before him, he offers an enjoyable history; but this is also an ethically informed one . . . a strong and intelligent novel. Source: Guardian

Spellbinding . . . Sansom’s vivid portrayal of squalid, stinking, bustling London; the city’s wealth and poverty; the brutality and righteousness of religious persecution; and the complexities of English law make this a suspenseful, colourful and compelling tale. Source: Publishers Weekly

One of the author’s greatest gifts is the immediacy of his descriptions . . . But it is Shardlake himself who steals the show. His honesty and humility shine out in a dark world where murder and mayhem are the order of the day. Author: Colin Dexter

Dark Fire is wonderful stuff, featuring a sort of Tudor Rebus who moves through the religious and political chaos of the 1540s with sinister élan. Author: James Naughtie Source: Glasgow Herald

Book Description:

The second Shardlake novel in C. J. Sansom's remarkable historical crime series.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780143036432: [(Dark Fire)] [by: C J Sansom]

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0143036432 ISBN 13: 9780143036432
Publisher: Penguin Group USA, 2005
Softcover

9780670033720: Dark Fire: A Novel

Viking..., 2005
Hardcover

9781405005449: Dark Fire (The Shardlake series)

Macmillan, 2004
Hardcover

9780330450782: Dark Fire (The Shardlake Series)

Pan, 2007
Softcover

9780330411974: Dark Fire (The Shardlake series)

Pan, 2005
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan Macmillan 2015-07-16, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781447285847

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 8.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan Macmillan (2015)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New PAP Quantity: 15
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FV-9781447285847

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan Macmillan, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Main Market Ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times 'Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time' - Andrew Taylor, Spectator England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister - and a new assignment . . .The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered - the formula has disappeared.Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .An internationally bestselling phenomenon, this gripping historical series continues with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland. Seller Inventory # AAZ9781447285847

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan Macmillan (2001)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 6
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. The second Shardlake novel in C. J. Sansom's remarkable historical crime series. Seller Inventory # B9781447285847

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Sansom, C. J.
Published by Pan (2001)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 22095871-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 6.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sansom, C. J.
Published by Pan (2015)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9781447285847-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pan
Published by Pan (2001)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1447285840. Seller Inventory # ST1447285840

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Pan
Published by Pan (2001)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781447285847_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan 2015-07-16 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9781447285847

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 8.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

C. J. Sansom
Published by Pan (2001)
ISBN 10: 1447285840 ISBN 13: 9781447285847
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Pieuler Store
(Suffolk, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # PSN1447285840

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 8.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book