Items related to The Collapsing Empire (Thorndike Press Large Print...

The Collapsing Empire (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)

4.11 avg rating
( 45,715 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781432839079: The Collapsing Empire (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Our universe is ruled by physics and faster than light travel is not possible -- until the discovery of The Flow, an extra-dimensional field we can access at certain points in space-time that transport us to other worlds, around other stars. Humanity flows away from Earth, into space, and in time forgets our home world and creates a new empire, the Interdependency, whose ethos requires that no one human outpost can survive without the others. It's a hedge against interstellar war -- and a system of control for the rulers of the empire. The Flow is eternal -- but it is not static. Just as a river changes course, The Flow changes as well, cutting off worlds from the rest of humanity. When it's discovered that The Flow is moving, possibly cutting off all human worlds from faster than light travel forever, three individuals -- a scientist, a starship captain and the Empress of the Interdependency -- are in a race against time to discover what, if anything, can be salvaged from an interstellar empire on the brink of collapse.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for The Collapsing Empire

"Provocative and unexpected." --The Wall Street Journal

"Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time." --Entertainment Weekly, Grade B+

"Scalzi builds a fascinating new interstellar civilization in order to destroy it....[The Collapsing Empireis] amusing escapism full of guts and brains." --Ars Technica

"Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the "Old Man's War" series." --Library Journal, starred review

"Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure" --Booklist

"Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure." --Kirkus Reviews

Praise for John Scalzi

"As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Cannell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty-most of them in someone else's body."-- --USA Today on Lock In

"If anyone stands at the core of the American science fiction tradition at the moment, it is Scalzi." --The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition

"Plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable world-building, and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics. . . . Yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Lock In

Book Description:

A thrilling space opera from the author of the hugely popular Old Man's War series.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780765388902: The Collapsing Empire: 1 (Interdependency)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0765388901 ISBN 13: 9780765388902
Publisher: Tor Books, 2018
Softcover

9781509835072: The Collapsing Empire (The Interdependency)

Tor, 2017
Softcover

9780765388889: The Collapsing Empire

Tor Books, 2017
Hardcover

9781509835096: The Collapsing Empire (The Interdependency)

Tor, 2017
Softcover

9780765397225: The Collapsing Empire - Signed / Autographed Copy

Tor Books, 2017
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Newport Bookstore
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
24.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Front Cover Books
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # FrontCover1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
24.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Campbell Bookstore
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewCamp1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
25.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Byrd Books
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # byrd_excel_1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
25.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Denver Deep Reads
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # BeigeNew1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
25.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.85
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
29.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1432839071-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
32.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Scalzi, John
Published by Thorndike Press Large Print (2017)
ISBN 10: 1432839071 ISBN 13: 9781432839079
New Hardcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1432839071

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
57.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds