Froi of the Exiles (The Lumatere Chronicles)

4.28 avg rating
( 16,180 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781406356137: Froi of the Exiles (The Lumatere Chronicles)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The second in Melina Marchetta's epic fantasy trilogy, set in a menacing kingdom and perfect for Game of Thrones fans.

The second in Melina Marchetta's epic fantasy trilogy, set in a menacing kingdom and perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. The curse on the kingdom of Lumatere has been broken but there is a dark challenge ahead for Froi. Wild as he is, he has finally found somewhere he feels he belongs: by the side of Finnikin and the queen. But Froi must channel his savage side when he is sent on a mission to a rival kingdom, each inhabitant childless for eighteen years. With a frenzied princess roaming the palace, and danger lurking in every corner, Froi needs to discover the truth before it's too late.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A lush tapestry in which each stitch is a nugget of history and each splash of color a rounded character that engages readers' emotions. (starred review) * Booklist * Marchetta again demonstrates her fearlessness in exposing humanity at its ugliest, but also at its noblest, as her damaged characters struggle to rebuild their lives. The precipice on which Marchetta leaves readers will have them aching - but also terrified - to discover what comes next. (starred review) * Publishers Weekly * This book is complex, with rich and flawed characters and a plot that is completely addictive because it's so unpredictable and multilayered. It can stand alone, although plot details from Finnikin of the Rock are mentioned, making it more rewarding to read the two in order. Fans of the intricate fantasies of Megan Whalen Turner or George R. R. Martin will love this powerful book and wait impatiently for the next installment. * School Library Journal * The best audience for this sequel is the many fans of Finnikin of the Rock, who will hungrily devour the book, despite its length... The story's tortured romances and beyond-dysfunctional families are achingly memorable, and the complicated, continually surprising plot will keep readers on their toes... Although readers may throw conniptions over the cliffhanger ending, they will bask in the deep satisfaction of a gripping story gloriously told. * The Horn Book * Here is an author who writes fantasy as well as she writes realism - and in the case of Melina Marchetta, that's high praise, indeed! * Kristin Cashore *

Book Description:

From the bestselling author of Looking for Alibrandi.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780763662608: Froi of the Exiles: 02 (Lumatere Chronicles)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0763662607 ISBN 13: 9780763662608
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA), 2013
Softcover

9780763647599: Froi of the Exiles: 02 (Lumatere Chronicles)

Candle..., 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Melina Marchetta
Published by Walker Books, Limited
ISBN 10: 1406356131 ISBN 13: 9781406356137
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Books Puddle
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Walker Books, Limited. Condition: New. pp. 14+ years. Seller Inventory # 26372369677

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.13
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Melina Marchetta
Published by Walker Books, Limited
ISBN 10: 1406356131 ISBN 13: 9781406356137
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker Books, Limited. Condition: New. pp. 14+ years. Seller Inventory # 373708498

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Melina Marchetta
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406356131 ISBN 13: 9781406356137
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Academybookshop
(Long Island City, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # F-gv6-05394

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.13
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Melina Marchetta
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406356131 ISBN 13: 9781406356137
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 1406356131_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
24.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds