Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany

3.89 avg rating
( 20,446 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781400041206: Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A staff writer for The New Yorker and author of Among the Thugs offers an exuberant, witty account of his entry into the world of a professional cook-in-training, documenting his experiences in the kitchen of Mario Batali's acclaimed restaurant Babbo, his apprenticeships with Batali's former teachers, his relationship with Batali, and his immersion in the world of food. 100,000 first printing.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"It's a brilliant book, a high-brow kitchen soap opera" (Daily Telegraph)

"I lingered over every sentence like a heavily truffled risotto" (Anthony Bourdain)

"I have never read a funnier or more authentic account of the making of a serious cook. Give Mr Buford three stars" (Peter Mayle)

"A dazzling and fun account of two magnificently mad years" (Guardian)

"With an endlessly inquisitive mind writes with great humour ... I suspect it might become a kitchen classic. It deserves to" (Ray Connelly Daily Mail)

From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London and Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, a brilliant book about working in the kitchen of one of New York's most fashionable restaurants and with one of its most charismatic chefs.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bill Buford
Published by Knopf (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1400041201

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
19.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Condition: New. Hardcover. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-3 day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Seller Inventory # 1400041201

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
20.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111400041201

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
28.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1400041201

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
28.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.16
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1400041201 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0569218

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
44.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds