Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany

3.89 avg rating
( 19,635 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9781400041206: Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany

Bill Buford—author of the highly acclaimed best-selling Among the Thugs—had long thought of himself as a reasonably comfortable cook when in 2002 he finally decided to answer a question that had nagged him every time he prepared a meal: What kind of cook could he be if he worked in a professional kitchen? When the opportunity arose to train in the kitchen of Mario Batali’s three-star New York restaurant, Babbo, Buford grabbed it. Heat is the chronicle—sharp, funny, wonderfully exuberant—of his time spent as Batali’s “slave” and of his far-flung apprenticeships with culinary masters in Italy.

In a fast-paced, candid narrative, Buford describes the frenetic experience of working in Babbo’s kitchen: the trials and errors (and more errors), humiliations and hopes, disappointments and triumphs as he worked his way up the ladder from slave to cook. He talks about his relationships with his kitchen colleagues and with the larger-than-life, hard-living Batali, whose story he learns as their friendship grows through (and sometimes despite) kitchen encounters and after-work all-nighters.

Buford takes us to the restaurant in a remote Appennine village where Batali first apprenticed in Italy and where Buford learns the intricacies of handmade pasta . . . the hill town in Chianti where he is tutored in the art of butchery by Italy’s most famous butcher, a man who insists that his meat is an expression of the Italian soul . . . to London, where he is instructed in the preparation of game by Marco Pierre White, one of England’s most celebrated (or perhaps notorious) chefs. And throughout, we follow the thread of Buford’s fascinating reflections on food as a bearer of culture, on the history and development of a few special dishes (Is the shape of tortellini really based on a woman’s navel? And just what is a short rib?), and on the what and why of the foods we eat today.

Heat is a marvelous hybrid: a richly evocative memoir of Buford’s kitchen adventure, the story of Batali’s amazing rise to culinary (and extra-culinary) fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at the workings of a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters.

It is a book to delight in—and to savor.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Gastro-memoirs can be clichéd, but Bill Buford has injected lyricism and authenticity into the format." -- Vogue Magazine

"It’s funny and very well-written." -- The Observer

"a story of seared flesh and unadulterated pork butchery"
-- Scotsman: Saturday Fiction Round Up. Rev by Elizabeth Luard

'The author is a world-class wordsmith.' -- The Economist

'one of the most evocative testaments to our - and his - current obsession.' - Steven Shaplin -- London Review of Books

Heat brims with fascinating observations on cooking, incredible characters, useful discourse and argument-ending arcania. -- Anthony Bourdain on Amazon.com

crackles with energy, erudition and cinematic narration
-- Financial Times

‘Funny, well written and slightly exhausting’ -- The Observer

‘It’s a messy, brilliant book, a high brow kitchen soap opera…’ -- The Telegraph, July 15th 2006

‘a dazzling and fun account of two magnificently mad years’. -- The Guardian, July 15th 2006

From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London and Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, a brilliant book about working in the kitchen of one of New York's most fashionable restaurants and with one of its most charismatic chefs.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1400041201 Ships promptly from Texas. Bookseller Inventory # GHP4240DPGG041817H0123A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.86
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bill Buford
Published by Knopf (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1400041201

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 20.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 5.15
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bill Buford
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97814000412061.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 19.49
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Buford, Bill
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP1400041201BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 12.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 23.39
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf (2006)
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111400041201

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 24.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 15.59
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Buford, Bill
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1400041201 ISBN 13: 9781400041206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1400041201 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1503721

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 40.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 31.18
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds