Items related to Sweetbitter

Danler, Stephanie Sweetbitter ISBN 13: 9781101875940

Sweetbitter - Hardcover

3.32 avg rating
( 71,564 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781101875940: Sweetbitter
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships--and love--set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen--for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging--Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.

Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant--conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
"Brilliantly written... Sweetbitter is the Kitchen Confidential of our time."
--Gabrielle Hamilton, author of Blood, Bones & Butter and Prune, New York Times Book Review

"Danler's sexy, astute debut is really a love story about the addictive pull of restaurant life... Anyone who's ever tied on an apron will think, "Finally, someone wrote a book about us." And nailed it."
--People (book of the week)

"An unpretentious, truth-dealing novel... about hunger of every variety. Ms. Danler is a sensitive observer... and gifted commenter on many things. Sweetbitter is going to make a lot of people hungry."
--Dwight Garner, New York Times

..". perfectly captures the raw possibility of a young woman's first year in New York, opening up to a whole new world of wine, food, love and heartbreak."
--Mackenzie Dawson, New York Post

..".a raw, shucked, pungent, wild love story."
--Marie Claire

"Danler... quickly draws you into the sparkling surfaces and the shadowy underbelly of the city... [Tess's] insatiable hunger for tactile, sensual satisfaction dares you to tag along. The journey is high-minded and dirty, beastly and bountiful."
--Elle

"Danler's ravishing debut is like inhabiting the heady after-midnight hours of a city drunk on its own charms... [her] descriptions of food and drink go beyond mouth-watering, verging on orgasmic... a first novel [that] tantalizes, seduces, satisfies."
--
Leigh Haber, O Magazine

About the Author:
STEPHANIE DANLER is a writer based in Brooklyn, New York. She holds an MFA in creative writing from the New School.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherAlfred a Knopf Inc
  • Publication date2016
  • ISBN 10 1101875941
  • ISBN 13 9781101875940
  • BindingHardcover
  • Number of pages356
  • Rating
    3.32 avg rating
    ( 71,564 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781101911860: Sweetbitter (Vintage Contemporaries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781101911860
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2017
Softcover

9781786070371: Sweetbitter: Now a major TV series

Onewor..., 2017
Softcover

9780525564829: Sweetbitter (Vintage Contemporaries)

Vintag..., 1900
Softcover

9781780749150: Sweetbitter: Now a major TV series

Onewor..., 2016
Hardcover

9780451493354: Danler, S: Sweetbitter

Random...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
upickbook
(Daly City, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # mon0000229009

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.58
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
OceanwaveBooks
(Newbury Park, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description hardcover. Condition: New. New Condition.Clean crisp tight copy, no marks or tears. Email Notification. Satisfaction Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # ppl230115061

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1101875941-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
17.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published. Seller Inventory # 353-1101875941-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
17.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Byrd Books
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. In Never used condition. Seller Inventory # Nbynew1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
18.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
LibraryMercantile
(Humble, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newMercantile_1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
19.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.39
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Campbell Bookstore
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewCamp1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
19.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.39
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books of the Smoky Mountains
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
20.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.39
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
21.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Danler, Stephanie
Published by Knopf (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101875941 ISBN 13: 9781101875940
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think1101875941

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
22.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.39
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book