Dorothy Whipple Someone at a Distance

ISBN 13: 9780953478026

Someone at a Distance

4.18 avg rating
( 1,736 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780953478026: Someone at a Distance
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

International Law: As Interpreted During the Russo-Japanese War (1907)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

Someone at a Distance (1953) was the first novel by Dorothy Whipple Persephone Books published, although it was the last she wrote. We chose it because we think it is her best, an outstandingly good novel by any standards. Apparently a 'fairly ordinary tale about the destruction of a happy marriage,' Nina Bawden wrote in her Preface, yet 'it makes compulsive reading' in its description of an 'ordinary' family, husband commuting up to town, wife at home ('Ellen was that unfashionable creature, a happy housewife'). Disaster strikes when a young French woman visits (the scenes back in France are most beautifully described, with touches of Balzac or Maupassant) and calculatingly seduces the husband. He abandons everything for her; then there is no going back.

The effect on his wife and children, on his partner at work, the way his life is destroyed in an instant of mid-life madness, all combine to create a novel of exceptional insight. This is a strongly moral book, which shows Ellen as a fulfilled yet dangerous innocent, with a touch of smugness which blinds her to her husband's vanity. Yet neither of them are more smug, or more vain, than anyone else...which is why the novel has a universal quality lifting it out of the realm of the commonplace.
Dorothy Whipple is a superb stylist: not a 'fine' writer or a Modernist but a calm intelligence in the tradition of Mrs Gaskell and George Eliot. The first sentence, with its overtones about the tragecy to come, encapsulatges the novel's quality: 'Widowed, in the house her husband had built with day and night nurseries and a music-room, as if the children would stay there for ever, instead of marrying and going off at the earliest possible moment, old Mrs North yielded one day to a long-felt desire to provide herself with company. She answered an advertisement in the personal column of The Times.'
'The prose is simple, the psychology spot on' said the Daily Telegraph, while the Spectator called it 'a very good novel indeed about the fragility and also the tenacity of love.' Someone at a Distance was in the Evening Standard bestseller list, propelled there in part by the enthusiasm of John Sandoe's bookshop in Sloane Square, which commented in its booklist: 'We have all delighted in this unjustly forgotten novel; it is well written and compelling.' Someone at a Distance has now become one of Persephone Books' quiet bestsellers.

About the Author:

Born in 1893 in Lancashire, England, Dorothy Whipple wrote nine extremely successful novels, two of which were made into films. She also wrote short stories and two volumes of memoirs. She died in 1966. Nina Bawden is the celebrated author of Carrie's War, Peppermint Pig, and The Witch's Daughter, among others. A number of her works have been dramatized by BBC Children's television. She currently lives in London and Nauplion, Greece.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781906462000: Someone at a Distance (Persephone Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1906462003 ISBN 13: 9781906462000
Publisher: Persephone Books Ltd, 2008
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Whipple, Dorothy
Published by Persephone Books Ltd (1999)
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Softcover Quantity available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Persephone Books Ltd, 1999. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1466204-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Dorothy Whipple, Nina Bawden
Published by Persephone Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1999)
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Persephone Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. New edition. Language: English. Brand new Book. Seller Inventory # AAO9780953478026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Dorothy Whipple, Nina Bawden
Published by Persephone Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1999)
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Persephone Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. New edition. Language: English. Brand new Book. Seller Inventory # FOY9780953478026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Whipple, Dorothy
Published by Persephone Books Ltd (1999)
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Paperback Quantity available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Persephone Books Ltd, 1999. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. new ed edition. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0953478025

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Dorothy Whipple,Nina Bawden
Published by Persephone Books Ltd 1999-03-22 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Paperback Quantity available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Persephone Books Ltd 1999-03-22, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-CBK-9780953478026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Whipple, Dorothy
ISBN 10: 0953478025 ISBN 13: 9780953478026
New Quantity available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1466204-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds