Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

4.55 avg rating
( 346 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780751565065: Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.' Kate Furnivall

'I'm absolutely loving it.' Gill Paul

'Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous

'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan

With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees.

**************

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton, twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair, grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair, and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies
'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees
'A summer must-read' Red
'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher
'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan
'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey
'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

From the author of Beneath a Burning Sky, the 2017 KINDLE BETSELLER'Beautifully described . . ., A moving love story' Tracy Rees'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah JefferiesVivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys. ******Two great loves. One shattering betrayal., A war that changes everything.Singapore, 1897Twenty-year-old identical twins, Harriet and Mae, born from a scandalous affair, have spent their lives slighted by gossips. They've carried each other through the loneliness, believing that together they can survive anything. But then their mysterious benefactor sends them to Singapore to live with his relative, the watchful David Keeley, who will choose one of them to marry., In the tension of David's house, a distance opens up between the twins, but it is only when they meet the handsome Alex Blake that their relationship truly fractures, resulting in a life-shattering betrayal with devastating consequences . . ., 1941Ivy, an intelligence officer with the women's naval service, is posted to wartime Singapore. Carrying her own ghosts from Blitz-torn London, she arrives to the looming threat of a Japanese invasion. Nothing can prepare her for what's waiting on the island - not the unexpected love, nor the strangers from her grandmother, Mae's, past, and the shocking secrets that now echo down through the generations.With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.Further praise for Jenny Ashcroft:'A summer must-read' Red'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre., Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan'Exquisitely written . . ., unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey'Island in the East is tha

Review:

A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling. (Kate Furnivall)

An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read. (Gill Paul bestselling author of The Secret Wife)

A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin (Tammy Cohen writing as Rachel Rhys)

Historical fiction at its atmospheric best (Sarra Manning Red Magazine)

Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down. (Kate Riordan)

Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive . . . will stay with readers for a very long time and deservedly so. I haven't read a historical novel this good in a long time. (Nicola Cornick bestselling author of House of Shadows)

A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed. (Judith Lennox on Island in the East)

Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read. Romance, mysterious secrets surfacing from the past and strong women that will have you rooting for them until the last page is turned - I couldn't put it down. (Nikola Scott author of My Mother's Shadow)

Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written (Emma Rous)

An incredibly special, unforgettable book. It's magnificent. (Iona Grey)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
All orders are dispatched the following... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Jenny Ashcroft
Published by Sphere (2017)
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2017. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Seller Inventory # mon0004964858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Jenny Ashcroft
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR008817308

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Jenny Ashcroft
Published by Sphere
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Sphere. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0751565067I4N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
13.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Ashcroft, Jenny
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # 17281416-20

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Ashcroft, Jenny
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # 17830065-20

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Ashcroft, Jenny
Published by Sphere (2017)
ISBN 10: 0751565067 ISBN 13: 9780751565065
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Sphere, 2017. Paperback. Condition: Good. Unread shelfworn copy may have creased spine, torn dust jacket etc. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Seller Inventory # 9780751565065G

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 21.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds