Watching Out (Fran Varady 5): A gripping London crime mystery

3.67 avg rating
( 129 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780747268024: Watching Out (Fran Varady 5): A gripping London crime mystery
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

There's trouble ahead for Fran Varady...

Just as amateur sleuth Fran Varady is getting her life back on track, problems arise in Watching Out, the fifth fantastic Fran Varady mystery by Ann Granger. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton and Rebecca Tope.

'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines' - Yorkshire Post

Fran Varady fell into private detective work by accident rather than design. Now she's got a 'real' job at a trendy pizzeria, she's back on track with her acting ambitions, and she's even found a nice flat to rent. But things aren't as straightforward as they seem.

The job, for a start: there's something rather sinister about the way the pizzeria is run. And the play rehearsals aren't going well. As if all this doesn't bring problems enough, Fran has rashly undertaken to help a young boy, illegally in the country, find an elusive people-trafficker called Max. When the trail Fran is following is suddenly and tragically interrupted by a horrifying death, she finds herself up against dangerous men and a ruthless organisation.

What readers are saying about Watching Out:

'A very engrossing story - couldn't get enough and continued reading through the night to get to the end'

'Ann Granger certainly knows how to grip her readers, and this is one of her best'

'The Agatha Christie of our time... five stars!'

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent' (The Times)

'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read' (Ham and High)

'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun' (Yorkshire Post)

'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner' (Birmingham Post)

'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines' (Yorkshire Post)

Book Description:

Watching Out is the latest mystery featuring young amateur sleuth Fran Varady, by the author of the acclaimed Mitchell & Markby mysteries, Ann Granger

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780747274759: Watching Out (Fran Varady)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0747274754 ISBN 13: 9780747274759
Publisher: Headline, 2003
Hardcover

9780750521185: Watching Out

Magna ..., 2004
Hardcover

9780755306671: Watching Out

Headli...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. There's trouble ahead for Fran Varady. Just as amateur sleuth Fran Varady is getting her life back on track, problems arise in Watching Out, the fifth fantastic Fran Varady mystery by Ann Granger. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton and Rebecca Tope. 'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines' - Yorkshire Post Fran Varady fell into private detective work by accident rather than design. Now she's got a 'real' job at a trendy pizzeria, she's back on track with her acting ambitions, and she's even found a nice flat to rent. But things aren't as straightforward as they seem. The job, for a start: there's something rather sinister about the way the pizzeria is run. And the play rehearsals aren't going well. As if all this doesn't bring problems enough, Fran has rashly undertaken to help a young boy, illegally in the country, find an elusive people-trafficker called Max. When the trail Fran is following is suddenly and tragically interrupted by a horrifying death, she finds herself up against dangerous men and a ruthless organisation.What readers are saying about Watching Out:'A very engrossing story - couldn't get enough and continued reading through the night to get to the end''Ann Granger certainly knows how to grip her readers, and this is one of her best''The Agatha Christie of our time. five stars!'. Seller Inventory # HUK9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. There's trouble ahead for Fran Varady. Just as amateur sleuth Fran Varady is getting her life back on track, problems arise in Watching Out, the fifth fantastic Fran Varady mystery by Ann Granger. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton and Rebecca Tope. 'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines' - Yorkshire Post Fran Varady fell into private detective work by accident rather than design. Now she's got a 'real' job at a trendy pizzeria, she's back on track with her acting ambitions, and she's even found a nice flat to rent. But things aren't as straightforward as they seem. The job, for a start: there's something rather sinister about the way the pizzeria is run. And the play rehearsals aren't going well. As if all this doesn't bring problems enough, Fran has rashly undertaken to help a young boy, illegally in the country, find an elusive people-trafficker called Max. When the trail Fran is following is suddenly and tragically interrupted by a horrifying death, she finds herself up against dangerous men and a ruthless organisation.What readers are saying about Watching Out:'A very engrossing story - couldn't get enough and continued reading through the night to get to the end''Ann Granger certainly knows how to grip her readers, and this is one of her best''The Agatha Christie of our time. five stars!'. Seller Inventory # HUK9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group 2003-10-06, London (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New paperback Quantity available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group 2003-10-06, London, 2003. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Paperback / softback Quantity available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Watching Out is the latest mystery featuring young amateur sleuth Fran Varady, by the author of the acclaimed Mitchell & Markby mysteries, Ann Granger. Seller Inventory # B9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Granger, Ann
Published by Headline Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Softcover Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group. Condition: New. 2003. Paperback. In her fifth riveting mystery, Fran Varady is in big trouble . Series: Fran Varady. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 178 x 110 x 20. Weight in Grams: 182. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.85
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Granger, Ann
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Softcover Quantity available: 10
Seller:

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2003. Condition: New. 2003. Paperback. In her fifth riveting mystery, Fran Varady is in big trouble . Series: Fran Varady. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 178 x 110 x 20. Weight in Grams: 182. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.35
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Ann Granger
Published by Headline 2003-10-06 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline 2003-10-06, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCE-9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Ann Granger
Published by Gardners Books
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Gardners Books. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think0747268029

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
25.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Granger, Ann
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2003)
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2003. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # HU-9780747268024

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Granger, Ann
ISBN 10: 0747268029 ISBN 13: 9780747268024
New Quantity available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0747268029

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
49.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds