Carroll, Emma Frost Hollow Hall

ISBN 13: 9780571295449

Frost Hollow Hall

4.18 avg rating
( 770 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9780571295449: Frost Hollow Hall
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut.Tilly's heart sinks., Will's at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Rumour has it that the house is haunted ., . . Ten years ago the young heir, Kit Barrington, drowned there in the lake., But Tilly never turns down a dare. Then it goes horribly wrong. The ice breaks, Tilly falls through and almost drowns., At the point of death, a beautiful angel appears in the water and saves her. Kit Barrington's ghost. Kit needs Tilly to solve the mystery of his death, so that his spirit can rest in peace., In order to discover all she can, Tilly gets work as a maid at Frost Hollow Hall. But the place makes her flesh crawl. It's all about the dead here, she's told, and in the heart of the house she soon discovers all manner of dark secrets ., . .Frost Hollow Hall is a thrilling historical fiction debut. Told in Tilly's unique voice, it is a tale of love and loss, and how forgiveness is the key to recovery.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Emma Carroll, in her spooky debut, makes the Gothic ghost story her own ... believable, moving and just the right sort of frightening Source: Daily Telegraph

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense Source: We Love This Book

An emotionally-charged historical tale and a very believable ghost story rolled into one Source: The Telegraph

The perfect wintry ghost story Source: The Sunday Express

Review:

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense We Love This Book A spine-tingling debut novel with a strong period flavour that will delight all those who love a good ghost story LoveReading4Kids An excellent read to curl up with on a winter's evening The Bookbag A beautiful debut, that touches on the classics of childhoods gone by Serendipity Reviews

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Emma Carroll
Published by FABER & FABER, United Kingdom (2021)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description FABER & FABER, United Kingdom, 2021. Paperback. Condition: New. Main. Language: English. Brand new Book. From the queen of historical fiction, a ghostly tale about love, loss and forgiveness with an instant classic feel.The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut.Tilly's heart sinks. Will's at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Rumour has it that the house is haunted . . . Ten years ago the young heir, Kit Barrington, drowned there in the lake. But Tilly never turns down a dare. Then it goes horribly wrong. The ice breaks, Tilly falls through and almost drowns. At the point of death, a beautiful angel appears in the water and saves her. Kit Barrington's ghost. Kit needs Tilly to solve the mystery of his death, so that his spirit can rest in peace. In order to discover all she can, Tilly gets work as a maid at Frost Hollow Hall. But the place makes her flesh crawl. It's all about the dead here, she's told, and in the heart of the house she soon discovers all manner of dark secrets . . ost Hollow Hall is a thrilling historical fiction debut. Told in Tilly's unique voice, it is a tale of love and loss, and how forgiveness is the key to recovery.'Believable, moving and just the right sort of frightening.' Daily Telegraph'A perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense.' We Love This Book'The perfect wintry ghost story.' The Sunday Express. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Emma Carroll (author)
Published by Faber & Faber 2013-10-03, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber & Faber 2013-10-03, London, 2013. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Emma Carroll
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Main. Paperback. The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut.Tilly's heart si.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.256. Seller Inventory # 9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Carroll, Emma
Published by Faber & Faber (2012)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2012. Condition: New. 2012. Main. Paperback. The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut. Tilly's heart sinks. Will's at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 5AL; YFT. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 126 x 198 x 23. Weight in Grams: 244. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.51
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Carroll, Emma
Published by Faber & Faber (2013)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001192834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Carroll, Emma
Published by Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Faber & Faber. Condition: New. 2012. Main. Paperback. The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut. Tilly's heart sinks. Will's at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 5AL; YFT. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 126 x 198 x 23. Weight in Grams: 244. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Emma Carroll
Published by Faber & Faber 2013-10-03 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber & Faber 2013-10-03, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Emma Carroll
Published by Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber & Faber. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Emma Carroll
Published by Faber and Faber (2013)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber and Faber, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780571295449

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Carroll, Emma
Published by Faber & Faber (2013)
ISBN 10: 0571295444 ISBN 13: 9780571295449
New Paperback Quantity Available: 14
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Seller Inventory # 9780571295449N

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 21.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book