Hereward: The Devil's Army (The Hereward Chronicles: book 2): A high-octane historical adventure set in Norman England...

3.89 avg rating
( 420 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9780553825176: Hereward: The Devil's Army (The Hereward Chronicles: book 2): A high-octane historical adventure set in Norman England...
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

1067. The battle of Hastings has been lost; Harold Godwinsson is dead. The iron fist of William the Bastard has begun to squeeze the life out of England. Villages are torched and men, women and children put to the sword as the Norman king attempts to impose his cruel will upon this unruly nation.
But there is one who stands in the way of the invader's savagery. He is called Hereward. He is a warrior and master tactician and as adept at slaughter as the imposter who sits upon the throne. And he is England's last hope.

In a Fenlands fortress of water and wild wood, Hereward's resistance is simmering.
His army of outcasts grows by the day - a devil's army that emerges out of the mists and the night, leaving death in its wake. But William is not easily cowed. Under the command of his ruthless deputy, a man they call 'the Butcher', the Norman forces will do whatever it takes to crush the rebels, even if it means razing England to the ground.

Here then is the tale of the bloodiest rebellion England has ever known - an epic struggle that will echo down the years...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

The story of Hereward, forgotten hero of English history, continues in James Wilde's second brutal and bloody novel - a must-read for action-packed historical fiction fans!

From the Back Cover:

1067. It seems all was lost at Hastings. Harold Godwinsson is dead and now the iron fist of William the Bastard has begun to squeeze the life out of this conquered land. Villages are torched and men, women and children put to the sword.

But there is one who yet stands in the way of the invader: Hereward. A warrior and master tactician as adept at slaughter as the imposter who sits upon the throne, he is England’s last hope.

In his Fenland fortress of water and wild wood, Hereward’s resistance simmers. His is a devil’s army, one that steals out of the night mists and leaves death in its wake.

But William is not easily cowed. Under the command of Ivo Taillebois – nicknamed ‘the Butcher’ – the Normans will do whatever it takes to crush the English rebels, even if it means razing the country to the ground...

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780593065006: Hereward: The Devil's Army: (Hereward 2)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  059306500X ISBN 13:  9780593065006
Publisher: Bantam Press, 2012
Hardcover

9780593065013: Hereward: The Devils Army

Bantam..., 2012
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Wilde
Published by Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The story of Hereward continues in this action-packed, brutal and bloody novel - a must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'An author who really does deliver the goods.I've relished every page so far and I am left hungry for more. If you're a fan of historical fiction. you need to be reading James Wilde.' --THE ELOQUENT PAGE"I couldn't put it down!" - Reader review. Now the real battle for England begins.1067: The Battle of Hastings is lost and England is in the grips of William The Bastard, a cruel king set upon imposing his will on the unruly nation.But there is one who stands in his way. Hereward: a warrior; a shrewd and ruthless fighter; England's last hope.His army of outcasts - a devil's army - grows by the day and emerges at night leaving death in its wake. The Normans will do whatever it takes to crush the rebels - but the rebels have no plans to surrender.Hereward: The Devil's Army is the second book in James Wilde's six book Hereward series. His story continues in Hereward: End of Days. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

James Wilde
Published by Transworld (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Transworld, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

James Wilde (author)
Published by Transworld 2013-06-20, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld 2013-06-20, London, 2013. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

James Wilde
Published by imusti (2001)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description imusti, 2001. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0553825178_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Wilde, James
Published by Bantam (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Bantam, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000888128

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

James Wilde
Published by Transworld (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

James Wilde
Published by Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 19
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld Publishers Ltd. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Wilde, James
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0553825178. Seller Inventory # ST0553825178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

WILDE,JAMES
Published by TW Adult (2013)
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description TW Adult, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 480 pages. 7.80x5.00x1.18 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0553825178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

James Wilde
ISBN 10: 0553825178 ISBN 13: 9780553825176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. 1067. The battle of Hastings has been lost; Harold Godwinsson is dead. The iron fist of William the Bastard has begun to squeeze the life out of England. Villages are torched .Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 480 pages. 0.332. Seller Inventory # 9780553825176

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 29.65
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds