Unspoken: Anders Knutas series 2

3.64 avg rating
( 2,712 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780552156134: Unspoken: Anders Knutas series 2
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'Strong characters raise questions of how well we know those close to us...gripping' Financial Times

The dead man was a drunk; a regular on the park benches of Gotland's city centre. He had been celebrating winning 80,000 Krona at the races. His body is discovered by one of his drinking buddies: he is drenched in blood and someone or something has left a hole the size of a fist in the back of his head.

It's winter on the island of Gotland. The tourists have returned home. The tree branches are bare, the sky is sleet grey and the days are getting shorter and darker. Winter is a quiet time for Chief Inspector Anders Knutas and Detective Karin Jacobsson; the tourists tend to take the violent crimes with them back to the mainland. To keep their lives simple, they are tempted to assume that the victim died as a result of a drunken brawl over money. But all of the clues point to something far more sinister.

Then 14-year old Fanny Jansson, a volunteer at the local stables, vanishes. At first Knutas and Jacobsson find it hard to believe that the two cases are linked: one is a violent murder, the other, the disappearance of a lonely and isolated child who has probably run away. Painstakingly, they work the clues, assisted by ambitious TV reporter Johan Berg. But what none of them realise is that truth is much closer to home than they'd ever imagine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Strong characters raise questions of how well we know those close to us . . . gripping" (Financial Times)

"PRAISE FOR UNSEEN:

Just when I thought that the flow of impressive crime writers from the Nordic countries was slowing down, up pops another. Unseen is the Swede Mari Jungstedt's first novel, but it doesn't feel like it. She is in total control of plot and pace, conveys chilling atmosphere and her characters are well above average for believability." (Marcel Berlins, The Times)

"There's an icy dispassionate grip to Jungstedt's writing that recalls Henning Mankell." (Metro)

Book Description:

An atmospehric new thriller set on the island of Gotland, from Sweden's new crime-writing star. For fans of Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbo.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780385612746: Unspoken

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0385612745 ISBN 13: 9780385612746
Publisher: Doubleday, 2008
Softcover

9781407414812: Unspoken (LARGE PRINT)

Clippe..., 2008
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. 'Strong characters raise questions of how well we know those close to us.gripping' Financial TimesThe dead man was a drunk; a regular on the park benches of Gotland's city centre. He had been celebrating winning 80,000 Krona at the races. His body is discovered by one of his drinking buddies: he is drenched in blood and someone or something has left a hole the size of a fist in the back of his head.It's winter on the island of Gotland. The tourists have returned home. The tree branches are bare, the sky is sleet grey and the days are getting shorter and darker. Winter is a quiet time for Chief Inspector Anders Knutas and Detective Karin Jacobsson; the tourists tend to take the violent crimes with them back to the mainland. To keep their lives simple, they are tempted to assume that the victim died as a result of a drunken brawl over money. But all of the clues point to something far more sinister.Then 14-year old Fanny Jansson, a volunteer at the local stables, vanishes. At first Knutas and Jacobsson find it hard to believe that the two cases are linked: one is a violent murder, the other, the disappearance of a lonely and isolated child who has probably run away. Painstakingly, they work the clues, assisted by ambitious TV reporter Johan Berg. But what none of them realise is that truth is much closer to home than they'd ever imagine. Seller Inventory # BTA9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld Publishers Ltd, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. 'Strong characters raise questions of how well we know those close to us.gripping' Financial TimesThe dead man was a drunk; a regular on the park benches of Gotland's city centre. He had been celebrating winning 80,000 Krona at the races. His body is discovered by one of his drinking buddies: he is drenched in blood and someone or something has left a hole the size of a fist in the back of his head.It's winter on the island of Gotland. The tourists have returned home. The tree branches are bare, the sky is sleet grey and the days are getting shorter and darker. Winter is a quiet time for Chief Inspector Anders Knutas and Detective Karin Jacobsson; the tourists tend to take the violent crimes with them back to the mainland. To keep their lives simple, they are tempted to assume that the victim died as a result of a drunken brawl over money. But all of the clues point to something far more sinister.Then 14-year old Fanny Jansson, a volunteer at the local stables, vanishes. At first Knutas and Jacobsson find it hard to believe that the two cases are linked: one is a violent murder, the other, the disappearance of a lonely and isolated child who has probably run away. Painstakingly, they work the clues, assisted by ambitious TV reporter Johan Berg. But what none of them realise is that truth is much closer to home than they'd ever imagine. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Transworld 2009-02-26, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld 2009-02-26, London, 2009. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Corgi (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Corgi, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000257450

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Jungstedt, Mari
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780552156134_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld Publishers Ltd. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. Winter is a quiet time for Chief Inspector Anders Knutas and Detective Karin Jacobsson; At first Knutas and Jacobsson find it hard to believe that the two cases are linked: one is a violent murder, the other, the disappearance of a lonely and isolated child who has probably run away. Seller Inventory # B9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Mari Jungstedt,Tiina Nunnally
Published by Corgi 2009-02-26 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Corgi 2009-02-26, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Mari Jungstedt,Tiina Nunnally
Published by Corgi 2009-02-26 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Corgi 2009-02-26, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-PEN-9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Transworld (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Transworld, 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780552156134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Mari Jungstedt
Published by Corgi Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0552156132 ISBN 13: 9780552156134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Corgi Books, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0552156132

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
36.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book