Items related to The Water Cure

Mackintosh, Sophie The Water Cure ISBN 13: 9780525562832

The Water Cure - Softcover

3.25 avg rating
( 24,749 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780525562832: The Water Cure
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
"A gripping, sinister fable!" --Margaret Atwood, via Twitter

King has tenderly staked out a territory for his wife and three daughters, Grace, Lia, and Sky. Here on his island, women are protected from the chaos and violence of men on the mainland. The cult-like rituals and therapies they endure fortify them from the spreading toxicity of a degrading world.

But when King disappears and two men and a boy wash ashore, the sisters' safe world begins to unravel. Over the span of one blistering hot week, a psychological cat-and-mouse game plays out. Sexual tensions and sibling rivalries flare as the sisters are forced to confront the amorphous threat the strangers represent.

A haunting, riveting debut, The Water Cure is a fiercely poetic feminist revenge fantasy that's a startling reflection of our time.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
"Chilling. . . . Unsettling. . . . Feels both futuristic and like an eerily familiar fable."
--The New York Times

"Remarkable. . . . Mackintosh seamlessly weaves together the themes of Shakespeare . . . with the very modern issue of toxic masculinity."
--The Washington Post

"Sensational. . . . Part fable, part feminist dystopia, Mackintosh's taut novel turns a keen, unsparing eye on violence, patriarchy, and desire."
--Esquire

"Mackintosh's novel follows in the footsteps of The Handmaid's Tale . . . but this debut has its own alluring style."
--Vogue

"Ingenious and incendiary."
--Laura Miller, The New Yorker

"A tart, uncanny debut novel."
--NPR

"Haunting. . . . Sumptuous."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Gorgeously dark, disturbing, and provocative."
--San Francisco Chronicle

"Eerie and quietly stunning."
--Bomb

"Creepy and sexy in equal measure."
--The Independent

"An evocative coming-of-age novel."
--Kirkus Reviews

"[An] intense, ambitious debut."
--Publishers Weekly

"An extraordinary otherworldly debut. . . . [Mackintosh] is writing the way that Sofia Coppola would shoot the end of the world: everything is luminous, precise, slow to the point of dread."
--The Guardian

"A haunting, disturbing look into the ways in which young women are failed by those closest to them, and how those failures echo outward, poisoning all of existence."
--Nylon

"There's something Joni Mitchell-esque about the lyrical, emotional tone of the prose. . . . Mackintosh's profound faith in sisterhood imbues her particular dark vision with beauty and a kind of hope."
--Newsday

"A feminist dystopian fairy tale--evocative, suspenseful, and bleak--in short, everything this age seems to be demanding."
--Fresh Air

"Demonstrate[s] why the subtlest fiction is often the most powerful."
--Vulture

"This riveting debut adds another dimension to a post-Handmaid's Tale world."
--The Telegraph

"Startling. . . . Mackintosh is a wonderful stylist; the full scope of her imagination, as well as the cohesion of her vision, is evident on every page."
--The Irish Times

"A hypnotic read. . . . This extraordinary debut is a feminist quasi-dystopian read for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls, and The Vegetarian."
--Elle (UK)
About the Author:
Sophie Mackintosh won the 2016 White Review Short Story Prize and the 2016 Virago/Stylist Short Story competition, and has been published in Granta magazine and Tank magazine, among others. The Water Cure is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherAnchor Books
  • Publication date2019
  • ISBN 10 0525562834
  • ISBN 13 9780525562832
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages288
  • Rating
    3.25 avg rating
    ( 24,749 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780385543873: The Water Cure

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780385543873
Publisher: Doubleday, 2019
Hardcover

9780241983010: The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Penguin, 2019
Softcover

9780241334744: The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Hamish..., 2018
Hardcover

9780241337349: The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Hamish..., 2018
Softcover

9780593104217: The Water Cure: A Novel (Random House Large Print)

Random..., 2019
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
upickbook
(Daly City, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # mon0000242411

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
7.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.58
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Soft Cover Quantity: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780525562832

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mackintosh,Sophie
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0525562834

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
9.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 35694072-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
10.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.10
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Roundabout Books
(Greenfield, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New from the publisher. Seller Inventory # 1210180

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
12.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0525562834-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Sophie Mackintosh
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. A gripping, sinister fable! Margaret Atwood, via TwitterONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR:NPR GLAMOUR GOOD HOUSEKEEPING LIT HUB THRILLISTKing has tenderly staked out a territory for his wife and three daughters, Grace, Lia, and Sky. Here on his island, women are protected from the chaos and violence of men on the mainland. The cult-like rituals and therapies they endure fortify them from the spreading toxicity of a degrading world.But when King disappears and two men and a boy wash ashore, the sisters safe world begins to unravel. Over the span of one blistering hot week, a psychological cat-and-mouse game plays out. Sexual tensions and sibling rivalries flare as the sisters are forced to confront the amorphous threat the strangers represent.A haunting, riveting debut, The Water Cure is a fiercely poetic feminist revenge fantasy thats a startling reflection of our time. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780525562832

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mackintosh, Sophie
Published by Anchor (2019)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenDragon
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Buy for Great customer experience. Seller Inventory # GoldenDragon0525562834

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
15.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sophie Mackintosh
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780525562832

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
13.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Mackintosh, Sophie (Author)
ISBN 10: 0525562834 ISBN 13: 9780525562832
New Trade Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Adventures Underground
(Richland, WA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Trade Paperback. Condition: New. New Book. Seller Inventory # 832541

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book