Little Fires Everywhere

ISBN 13: 9780525522560

Little Fires Everywhere

4.14 avg rating
( 246,859 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780525522560: Little Fires Everywhere
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'I am loving Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng. Maybe my favorite novel I've read this year' John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars

'To say I love this book is an understatement. It's a deep psychological mystery about the power of motherhood, the intensity of teenage love, and the danger of perfection. It moved me to tears' Reese Witherspoon

The brilliant new novel by the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You.

Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down.

In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules.

Enter Mia Warren - an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.

When the Richardsons' friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family - and Mia's.

Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Celeste Ng's second book should have been on next year's best novels list, but it was so successful in America that its UK publisher brought it forward several months. Shaker Heights, a complacent Ohio suburb, is shaken up by the arrival of the bohemian photographer Mia Warren. Arson and a child custody battle ensue. It's a gripping read and is sure to become a book club staple (if it's not already). It has the celebrity stamp of approval too: Reese Witherspoon is making it into a mini-series (The Times, Best Fiction in 2017)

Little Fires Everywhere (Little, Brown) is the second novel from Celeste Ng and manages to combine a thought-provoking story of race, belonging, motherhood and the cracked face of smug liberalism with the pace of a page-turner (Mariella Frostrup, the Observer Books of the Year 2017)

Beginning with a house fire set by a teenager, the flames quickly spread across Celeste Ng's suburban idyll in Little Fires Everywhere (Little, Brown), a sharp and nuanced tale of race and family in 1990s America (Paula Hawkins, the Observer Books of the Year 2017)

Just finished Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng and now I feel bereft (Nigella Lawson)

Ng sets up the story of two opposing families - one, the all-American dream; one, the bohemian idyll - and lets it rip. Jealousies, parental insecurity, teenage dreams and a small amount of arson all come to the surface in what has to be one of the best books of 2017. Our advice is to pick it up and read in one glorious night (Emerald St, Best Books of November)

To say I love this book is an understatement. It's a deep psychological mystery about the power of motherhood, the intensity of teenage love, and the danger of perfection. It moved me to tears (Reese Witherspoon)

Just read it. It's a masterclass in characterisation. Outstanding (Matt Haig)

I am loving Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng. Maybe my favorite novel I've read this year (John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars)

Little Fires Everywhere is already setting America ablaze...it held me completely, from start to finish - held me in the sense that even when I wasn't reading it, some part of my head was straining to find out where it would lead next...what will absolutely ensure the success of this book is that while the plot whisks you breathlessly along, it lays out the bones of a debate about race and parenthood - a debate in which Ng deftly, dutifully ensures that everyone has a point (Sunday Times)

The book of the moment (India Knight, Sunday Times)

Book Description:

A compulsive, brilliant novel about race, identity, family and secrets for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Zadie Smith.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780735224292: Little Fires Everywhere

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0735224293 ISBN 13:  9780735224292
Publisher: Penguin Press, 2017
Hardcover

9780525498773: Little Fires Everywhere (Random House Large Print)

Random..., 2017
Softcover

9781408709719: Little Fires Everywhere: The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller

Little..., 2017
Hardcover

9780349142920: Little Fires Everywhere: The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller

Abacus, 2018
Softcover

9781408709726: Little Fires Everywhere

Little..., 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ng, Celeste
ISBN 10: 0525522565 ISBN 13: 9780525522560
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 8.66x5.91x1.18 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0525522565

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
31.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds