Schuster, Joseph M. The Might Have Been

ISBN 13: 9780345530264

The Might Have Been

3.58 avg rating
( 483 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780345530264: The Might Have Been
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Joseph M. Schuster’s absorbing debut novel resonates with the pull of lifelong dreams, the sting of regret, and the ways we define ourselves against uncertain twists of fate—perfect for fans of Chad Harbach’s The Art of Fielding.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH

For Edward Everett Yates, split seconds matter: the precise timing of hitting a low outside pitch, of stealing a base, of running down a fly ball. After a decade playing in the minor leagues—years after most of his peers have given up—he’s still patiently waiting for his chance at the majors. Then one day he gets called up to the St. Louis Cardinals, and finally the future he wanted unfolds before him.

But one more split second changes everything: In what should have been the game of his life, he sustains a devastating knee injury, which destroys his professional career.

Thirty years later, after sacrificing so many opportunities—a lucrative job, relationships with women who loved him, even the chance for a family—Edward Everett is barely hanging on as the manager of a minor league baseball team, still grappling with regret over the choices he made and the life he almost had. Then he encounters two players—one brilliant but undisciplined, the other eager but unremarkable—who show him that his greatest contribution may come in the last place he ever expected.

Full of passion, ambition, and possibility, The Might Have Been maps the profound and unpredictable moments that change our lives forever, and the irresistible power of a second chance.

Praise for The Might Have Been

“The effort to sustain the tradition of the great American baseball novel receives an honorable boost with this meticulously peopled tale of opportunities lost.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Eventually, all of us have to grapple our might-have-beens. This is the moving story of a man whose chance for baseball stardom ended in a split-second accident, and it resonates far beyond the baseball field.”—Reader’s Digest

“A brilliant debut . . . a lovely, poignant, heartbreaker of a baseball novel, as good as last year’s hyped The Art of Fielding and more literary than Grisham’s Calico Joe.”—St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“A grand slam!”—San Antonio Express-News

The Might Have Been is about the hold baseball can have on those who play it, but it’s also about acceptance, and patience, and the struggle to know when to fold ’em, and when to run.”—Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

“A terrific story that goes beyond the sport and deals with promise and aspirations, dreams and disappointments . . . Never mind whether you are a baseball fan. This is a damn fine read.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joseph M. Schuster lives near St. Louis, Missouri, and teaches at Webster University. His short fiction has appeared in The Kenyon Review, The Iowa Review, and The Missouri Review, among others. He is married and the father of five children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 0345530268-11-18545656

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 0345530268-11-13003410

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0345530268-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Joe Schuster
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0345530268

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
21.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Schuster, Joe
Published by U.S.A.: Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Mima Mia Books
(BROOKLINE, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description U.S.A.: Ballantine Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. 4339 Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. Seller Inventory # 4D-14-B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0345530268

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
30.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0345530268

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Schuster, Joe
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29pg301to675-6020

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
36.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Schuster, Joe
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29pg1to300-4820

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
36.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Schuster, Joe
Published by Ballantine Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345530268 ISBN 13: 9780345530264
New Hardcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2012. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0345530268

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
49.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book