Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1

3.97 avg rating
( 1,429 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9780340963661: Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The first book in the Insurrection trilogy, which tells the thrilling story of Robert the Bruce.

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived.

The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion.

But all is not destined to go Edward's way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England's greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce.

Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Immaculately researched and carefully written, evoking a very particular - and largely unexplored - time and place. The fights are sensational. (Daily Telegraph)

Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters (Daily Mail)

It is so graphic you can immediately put yourself there, imagining the faces and the clash of weapons. It also elaborates on the historical context and fleshes out the characters. It draws you in and is a compelling novel you cannot put down. So much research must have gone into the book; the detail is incredible. I enjoyed it so much. (The BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club)

Richly worked and captivating . . . an epic story of war, intrigue and heroism (Good Book Guide on BRETHREN)

The fast and furious start to a majestic new trilogy (Women and Home)

Leads you in swiftly and doesn't let you go (Australian Women's Weekly)

This tale captures the struggles of a tumultuous time (Australian Daily Telegraph)

another fine novel by Young and a promising start to an exciting new series (Canberra Times)

This is a big book, and the trilogy a huge project to undertake. From the evidence so far, Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters (Daily Mail)

Action-packed historical novel about Robert The Bruce. A fighting start to a new trilogy. (Sun)

Book Description:

Where Game of Thrones sets kingdoms at war within a fantasy world, the Insurrection trilogy is based on the breath-taking true story of Robert the Bruce's battle to become king.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780340963647: Insurrection (Insurrection Trilogy)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0340963646 ISBN 13:  9780340963647
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General, 2010
Hardcover

9781444721737: Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1

Hodder..., 2011
Softcover

9780340963654: Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1

Hodder..., 2010
Softcover

9781443408066: Insurrection

Softcover

9781443408059: Insurrection

Harper...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robyn Young
ISBN 10: 0340963662 ISBN 13: 9780340963661
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. 1262 A.D.In the dusty heat of French fields, knights battle for supremacy in a fierce tournament. At its violent heart is Edward of England, who leads his men under the banner of the drago.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 672 pages. 0.440. Seller Inventory # 9780340963661

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Young, Robyn
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2011)
ISBN 10: 0340963662 ISBN 13: 9780340963661
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0340963662

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Robyn Young
ISBN 10: 0340963662 ISBN 13: 9780340963661
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)

Book Description 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. 1262 A.D.In the dusty heat of French fields, knights battle for supremacy in a fierce tournament. At its violent heart is Edward of England, who leads his men under the banner.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 672 pages. 0.440. Seller Inventory # 9780340963661

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 29.64
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Robyn Young
Published by Hodder General (2011)
ISBN 10: 0340963662 ISBN 13: 9780340963661
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hodder General, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 7.76x5.16x1.69 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0340963662

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds