Items related to Embodiments of Mind (The MIT Press)

Embodiments of Mind (The MIT Press)

4.57 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780262529617: Embodiments of Mind (The MIT Press)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Writings by a thinker-a psychiatrist, a philosopher, a cybernetician, and a poet-whose ideas about mind and brain were far ahead of his time. Warren S. McCulloch was an original thinker, in many respects far ahead of his time. McCulloch, who was a psychiatrist, a philosopher, a teacher, a mathematician, and a poet, termed his work "experimental epistemology." He said, "There is one answer, only one, toward which I've groped for thirty years: to find out how brains work." Embodiments of Mind, first published more than fifty years ago, teems with intriguing concepts about the mind/brain that are highly relevant to recent developments in neuroscience and neural networks. It includes two classic papers coauthored with Walter Pitts, one of which applies Boolean algebra to neurons considered as gates, and the other of which shows the kind of nervous circuitry that could be used in perceiving universals. These first models are part of the basis of artificial intelligence. Chapters range from "What Is a Number, that a Man May Know It, and a Man, that He May Know a Number," and "Why the Mind Is in the Head," to "What the Frog's Eye Tells the Frog's Brain" (with Jerome Lettvin, Humberto Maturana, and Walter Pitts), "Machines that Think and Want," and "A Logical Calculus of the Ideas Immanent in Nervous Activity" (with Walter Pitts). Embodiments of Mind concludes with a selection of McCulloch's poems and sonnets. This reissued edition offers a new foreword and a biographical essay by McCulloch's one-time research assistant, the neuroscientist and computer scientist Michael Arbib.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"This collection...will delight those who like being stimulated, goaded, even infuriated into developing new ideas... The book also makes available those earlier, and now classic, articles that are sometimes almost inaccessible."--"Journal of Nervous and Mental Diseases"

."..teasing, provocative, oracular, stimulating, oblique..."--"Scientific American"

"We recommend it to all [those] who wish to be reassured that this age can produce scientific minds in the tradition of Bacon, Mill, Lester, and others of similar stature."--"American Association for Social Psychiatry"

About the Author:

Warren S. McCulloch was an American neurophysiologist and cybernetician, known for his work on the foundation for certain brain theories and his contribution to the cybernetics movement. Michael Arbib has played a leading role at the interface of neuroscience and computer science ever since his first book, Brains, Machines, and Mathematics.From Neuron to Cognition provides a worthy pedagogical sequel to his widely acclaimed Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks. After thirty years at University of Southern California he is now pursuing interests in "how the brain got language" and "neuroscience for architecture" in San Diego. The late Seymour A. Papert was a Professor in MIT's AI Lab (1960-1980s) and MIT's Media Lab (1985-2000) and the author of Mindstorms: Children, Computers, and Powerful Ideas.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780262631143: Embodiments Of Mind (MIT Press) (The MIT Press)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0262631148 ISBN 13: 9780262631143
Publisher: MIT Press, 1988
Softcover

9780262130189: Embodiments of Mind

MIT Press, 1965
Hardcover

9780262630306: Embodiments of Mind

MIT Press, 1970
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

McCulloch, Warren S.
Published by The MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0262529610. Seller Inventory # ST0262529610

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
28.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

McCulloch, Warren S.
Published by The MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0262529610-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.01
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Papert, Seymour A.
Published by The MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks20
(GORING BY SEA, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. This is a Brand New book, in perfect condition. Quick dispatch. Seller Inventory # NGR9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
31.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. McCulloch
Published by The MIT Press 2016-10-22, Cambridge, MA (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
31.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

McCulloch, Warren S.; Arbib, Michael A. (FRW); Lettvin, Jerome Y. (FRW); Papert, Seymour A. (INT)
Published by The MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 26293028-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
29.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. Mcculloch
Published by MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New PAP Quantity: 3
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
31.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. McCulloch
Published by MIT Press Ltd (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Writings by a thinker--a psychiatrist, a philosopher, a cybernetician, and a poet--whose ideas about mind and brain were far ahead of his time. Seller Inventory # B9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
32.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. McCulloch
Published by MIT Press Ltd, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Writings by a thinker--a psychiatrist, a philosopher, a cybernetician, and a poet--whose ideas about mind and brain were far ahead of his time.Warren S. McCulloch was an original thinker, in many respects far ahead of his time. McCulloch, who was a psychiatrist, a philosopher, a teacher, a mathematician, and a poet, termed his work "experimental epistemology." He said, "There is one answer, only one, toward which I've groped for thirty years: to find out how brains work." Embodiments of Mind, first published more than fifty years ago, teems with intriguing concepts about the mind/brain that are highly relevant to recent developments in neuroscience and neural networks. It includes two classic papers coauthored with Walter Pitts, one of which applies Boolean algebra to neurons considered as gates, and the other of which shows the kind of nervous circuitry that could be used in perceiving universals. These first models are part of the basis of artificial intelligence.Chapters range from "What Is a Number, that a Man May Know It, and a Man, that He May Know a Number," and "Why the Mind Is in the Head," to "What the Frog's Eye Tells the Frog's Brain" (with Jerome Lettvin, Humberto Maturana, and Walter Pitts), "Machines that Think and Want," and "A Logical Calculus of the Ideas Immanent in Nervous Activity" (with Walter Pitts). Embodiments of Mind concludes with a selection of McCulloch's poems and sonnets. This reissued edition offers a new foreword and a biographical essay by McCulloch's one-time research assistant, the neuroscientist and computer scientist Michael Arbib. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
33.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. Mcculloch, Michael A. Arbib, Jerome Y. Lettvin, Seymour A. Papert
Published by MIT Press 2016-12-06 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
33.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Warren S. Mcculloch
Published by MIT Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0262529610 ISBN 13: 9780262529617
New PAP Quantity: 3
Seller:
PBShop.store US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780262529617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
37.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.80
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book