Gill Lewis White Dolphin

ISBN 13: 9780192756220

White Dolphin

4.05 avg rating
( 1,297 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780192756220: White Dolphin
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Bullied at school for her dyslexia and troubled by her mother's unexplained disappearance, Kara seeks sanctuary sailing the ocean's waves in her father's boat. Meanwhile, Felix resents his well-meaning parents for dragging him to live by the coast and misses his old friends back in London. On their first encounter, Kara and Felix take an immediate dislike to each other. But when they happen to discover a dolphin calf stranded on the beach they know they must work together to save it against all odds. Realizing they have more in common than they could ever have guessed, the two friends set out to find the truth behind the disappearance of Kara's marine biologist mother, and to protect the delicate reef in the bay of their home town from the destruction of commercial dredging. Their actions set in motion a dramatic chain of events that no one could have foreseen. And soon they must make an impossible choice. Risk their own lives or face losing everything ...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'A lyrical, emotive, engrossing adventure that carries its environmental message lightly.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times 'An uplifting and beautifully told tale of life, loss, and dolphins, with much to appeal to fans of Lauren St John and Michael Morpurgo.' --(Fiona Noble, The Bookseller)

'Gill Lewis, whose debut novel was the tender Sky Hawk, has excelled herself with White Dolphin, another moving and inspirational tale which is also a gripping action thriller... gracefully written and intense - you can almost feel the salty air brushing your face.' - Martin Chilton, Telegraph

'Uplifting.' --(Evening Standard )

'Packs a powerful emotional message into an exciting plot.' - Daily Mail

'It's the absorbing story and setting (Lewis is as good as Helen Dunmore at evoking Cornwall) which grips the reader, but don't be surprised if your 10 year-old spends the rest of the holiday campaigning against dredging.' --(The Sunday Telegraph)

Book Description:

The truth lies deep beneath the waves . . .

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Dispatched, from the UK, within... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: 3.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780545572057: White Dolphin

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0545572053 ISBN 13: 9780545572057
Publisher: Scholastic Inc., 2013
Softcover

9780192756213: White Dolphin

OUP Ox..., 2013
Softcover

9780198390985: White Dolphin Reader (Rollercoaster)

Oxford..., 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Lewis, Gill
Published by OUP Oxford (2012)
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 2
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Gloucester, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description OUP Oxford, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Damaged cover. The cover of is slightly damaged for instance a torn or bent corner. Seller Inventory # CHL4025808

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
1.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Lewis, Gill
Published by OUP Oxford (2012)
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Gloucester, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description OUP Oxford, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Aged book. Tanned pages and age spots, however, this will not interfere with reading. Grubby book may have mild dirt or some staining, mostly on the edges of pages. Seller Inventory # CHL5447830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
1.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Lewis, Gill.
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Chicago
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: Good. No Jacket. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0192756222I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Lewis, Gill.
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks-Chicago
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. No Jacket. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0192756222I4N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Gill. Lewis
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3034672680

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Gill. Lewis
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, will have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 3179514746

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Gill. Lewis
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Pro Quo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, will have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 3280112091

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Gill. Lewis
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Pro Quo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3284382793

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Gill. Lewis
Published by OUP Oxford
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description OUP Oxford. Paperback. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, will have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 3300473786

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Lewis, Gill
Published by Oxford University Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0192756222 ISBN 13: 9780192756220
Used Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2012. Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP69500666

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book