Items related to Old Records Never Die: One Man's Quest for His...

Old Records Never Die: One Man's Quest for His Vinyl and His Past

3.78 avg rating
( 735 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780142181614: Old Records Never Die: One Man's Quest for His Vinyl and His Past
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

ONE MAN'S HUNT FOR HIS OLD RECORDS - THE ONES HE ACTUALLY OWNED

For readers of Chuck Klosterman and Rob Sheffield, a moving story of an epic, impossible journey to track down every last one of the records in the author's old collection in an attempt to connect with his past.


High Fidelity (Victor Gollancz, 1995) meets Killing Yourself to Live (Scribner, 2005) in this memoir of one man's search for his lost record collection. As he finds himself within spitting distance of middle-age, journalist Eric Spitznagel feels acutely the loss of... something. Freedom? Maybe. Coolness? Could be. The records he sold in a financial pinch? Definitely. To find out for sure, he sets out on a quest to find the original vinyl artefacts from his past. Not just copies. The exact same records: The Bon Jovi record with his first girlfriend's phone number scrawled on the front sleeve. The KISS Alive II he once shared with his little brother. The Replacements' Let It Be he's pretty sure, 20 years later, would still smell like weed.

As he embarks on his hero's journey, he reminisces about the actual records, the music and the people he listened to it with: old girlfriends, his high school pals and, most poignantly, his father and his young son. He explores the magic of music and memory as he interweaves his adventures in record- culture with questions about our connection to our past, whether we can ever recapture it and whether we would want to if we could.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Calling someone's work Nick Hornby-like is a bit cliché, but Spitznagel gives high fidelity to Hornby's feel for music and its relationship to life."
--New York Post

"In this, Old Records Never Die finds its true purpose. It's a classic, High Fidelity-esque revelation that has Spitznagel in the midst of a 'what does it all mean?' moment wherein he begins exploring what-if situations and finding that things often pan out just as they should."
--Pop Matters

"Spitznagel knows that a good story can sometimes lead to a greater truth."
--KQED

"Think of it as an updated version of High Fidelity."
--Pause and Play.com

"Memories are far more indelible when married to the physical world, and Spitznagel proves the point in this vivid book. We love vinyl records because they combine the tactile, the visual, the seeable effects of age and care and carelessness. When he searches for the records he lost and sold, Spitznagel is trying to return to a tangible past, and he details that process with great sensitivity and impact."
--Dave Eggers, author of The Circle

"Spitznagel's quest for the actual records of his youth could have been a gimmick. Instead it's a touching exploration of loss: of opportunities, of loved ones, of the ability to even remotely discern what's hip. Hilarious and heartfelt, this is a book for anyone who has ever spent entire years of their lives haunting record stores, dissecting the merits of Doolittle, and studying liner notes with the intense focus of a Talmudic scholar."
--Jancee Dunn, author of But Enough About Me

"I'm working on a list of things that make me laugh harder than Eric Spitznagel's writing. So far, it includes old Albert Brooks movies, videos of animals riding bicycles and...well, that's about it. What I'm trying to say is: Eric Spitznagel is hilarious. And this book is perfectly Spitzagelian: Funny, smart, even a bit wistful at times. The way he feels about the Pixies - that's similar to the way I feel about Spitznagel's writing."
-AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically

"A funny and heartfelt memoir about music collecting that gives birth to a new branch of social science: Gen-X archaeology."--Neal Pollack, author of Alternadad

"The perfect combination of a vinyl completist's dream and nightmare."
--Patton Oswalt, author of Zombie Spaceship Wasteland

"To say Old Records Never Die is a book about music is to say On The Road is a book about cars. Really, Eric Spitznagel's energetic and endlessly engaging memoir is a book about the ways we seek to discover and recover our essential selves. Music lovers will love this book; unrepentant nostalgiacs, like myself, can expect to be absolutely riveted."
--Davy Rothbart, creator of Found Magazine and author of My Heart is an Idiot

"I can't remember when a book had me get out my black pen and underline so many wonderful things. Maybe never. Loss and laughter and all those denizens of sonic ghost town record stores willing but often unable to make us all whole again. Something on every page to stoke the geek heart with sad recognition and hope."
--Marc Spitz, author of Poseur: A Memoir of Downtown New York City in the 90s

"Eric Spitznagel is just like Captain Ahab, if Ahab were chasing Billy Joel albums instead of a white whale. As he recounts in this very funny book, Spitznagel found way more than he bargained for. And just like Ahab, he dies in the end. (Spoiler alert.)"
--Rob Tannenbaum, co-author of I Want My MTV: The Uncensored Story of the Music Video Revolution

About the Author:

Eric Spitznagel writes the Compare & Contrast column every Sunday for the New York Times Magazine. He is a frequent contributor to dozens of magazines, including Esquire, Playboy, Details and Men's Health, among many others. For three years he had a weekly interview column for Vanity Fair's website, called Awkward Question Time, and he currently has a bi-monthly music column for the MTV Hive website called Spitz Take. He's a contributing editor for The Believer Magazine and edited two humour anthologies: You're a Horrible Person, But I Like You (Vintage 2010) and Care To Make Love In That Gross Little Space Between Cars? (Vintage 2012). He is the author of six nonfiction books: Planet Baywatch (co-written with Brendan Baber, St. Martin's Press, 1996), A Guy's Guide to Dating (co-written with Brendan Baber, Main Street Books, 1998), Cigar Asphyxianado (Warner Books, 1998), The Junk Food Companion (Plume, 1999), Fast Forward (Manic D Press, 2006) and the New York Times bestseller Ron Jeremy: The (Hardest) Working Man in Show Biz (HarperCollins, 2007).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ000KM9_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ000L99_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ000KSA_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ009B0O_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # VR-109146

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Spitznagel, Eric; Tweedy, Jeff [Foreword]
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0142181617

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780142181614B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.29
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 530ZZZ0092CR_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0142181617-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

10.

Spitznagel, Eric
Published by Plume (2016)
ISBN 10: 0142181617 ISBN 13: 9780142181614
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780142181614

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book