The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

 
9780141034591: The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

A condensed guide to life from the bestselling author of The Black Swan, Nassim Nicholas Taleb's The Bed of Procrustes is an invaluable collection of aphorisms navigate the modern world

Why are we so often unwilling to accept that life is unpredictable? In this brilliant book Nassim Nicholas Taleb distils his idiosyncratic wisdom to demolish our illusions, contrasting the classical values of courage, elegance and erudition against modern philistinism and phoniness. Only by accepting what we don't know, he shows, can we see the world as it really is.

'Happily provocative ... blistering ... his observations concern superiority, wealth, suckerdom, academia, modernity, technology and the all-purpose, ignorant "they" ... very quotable'
  The New York Times

'A master philosopher'
  The Times

'Taleb's crystalline nuggets of thought stand alone like esoteric poems'
  Financial Times

'Opinionated and witty ... It showcases his wit and learning, and provides ways to fillet his enemies'
  Independent on Sunday

Nassim Nicholas Taleb spends most of his time as a flâneur, meditating in cafés across the planet. A former trader, he is currently Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at New York University. He is the author of Fooled by Randomness and The Black Swan, an international bestseller which has become an intellectual, social, and cultural touchstone.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Great fun . brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling ( Freakonomics)

An idiosyncratically brilliant new book ( Sunday Telegraph)

A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected ( Guardian)

Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling ( Financial Times)

Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot ( Sunday Times)

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point ( Time)

From the Publisher:

Shortlisted for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award 2007

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Trade Paperback.. 208 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Nassim Nicholas Taleb s phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty. What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great s lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they re impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide.I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person. (Will Self, Independent on Sunday). He leaps like some superhero of the mind. (Boyd Tonkin, Independent). Funny, quirky and thought-provoking.confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot. (John Cornwell, Sunday Times). Idiosyncratically brilliant. (Niall Ferguson, Sunday Telegraph). Great fun.brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling. (Stephen J. Dubner, Co-Author of Freakonomics). Bookseller Inventory # APG9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801410345910000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Trade Paperback.. 208 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Nassim Nicholas Taleb s phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty. What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great s lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they re impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide.I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person. (Will Self, Independent on Sunday). He leaps like some superhero of the mind. (Boyd Tonkin, Independent). Funny, quirky and thought-provoking.confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot. (John Cornwell, Sunday Times). Idiosyncratically brilliant. (Niall Ferguson, Sunday Telegraph). Great fun.brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling. (Stephen J. Dubner, Co-Author of Freakonomics). Bookseller Inventory # APG9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2008. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. Why are we so often unwilling to accept that life is unpredictable? In this book, the author distils his idiosyncratic wisdom to demolish our illusions, contrasting the classical values of courage, elegance and erudition against modern philistinism and phoniness. Num Pages: 480 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: GPF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 352. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0141034599

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin 2011-07-07 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin 2011-07-07, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-00465521

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0141034599 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # PVDA-MRSH-06426

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0141034599 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # PVDA-MRSH-02528

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 27mm. Paperback. Nassim Nicholas Taleb's phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of un.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 480 pages. 0.350. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. Why are we so often unwilling to accept that life is unpredictable? In this book, the author distils his idiosyncratic wisdom to demolish our illusions, contrasting the classical values of courage, elegance and erudition against modern philistinism and phoniness. Num Pages: 480 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: GPF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 352. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book