The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

3.89 avg rating
( 61,424 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141034591: The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Nassim Nicholas Taleb's phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty.

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper?

This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they're impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them.

'Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide ... I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person' Will Self, Independent on Sunday

'He leaps like some superhero of the mind' Boyd Tonkin, Independent

'Funny, quirky and thought-provoking ... confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot' John Cornwell, Sunday Times

'Idiosyncratically brilliant' Niall Ferguson, Sunday Telegraph

'Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling' Stephen J. Dubner, Co-Author of Freakonomics

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling (Freakonomics)

An idiosyncratically brilliant new book (Sunday Telegraph)

A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected (Guardian)

Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling (Financial Times)

Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot (Sunday Times)

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point (Time)

From the Publisher:

Shortlisted for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award 2007

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ashworth Books
(Sidney, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2008. Soft cover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 17SEPT0829

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
3.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.52
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Trade Paperback. Language: English . Brand New Book. Nassim Nicholas Taleb s phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty. What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great s lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they re impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide . I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person Will Self, Independent on Sunday He leaps like some superhero of the mind Boyd Tonkin, Independent Funny, quirky and thought-provoking . confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot John Cornwell, Sunday Times Idiosyncratically brilliant Niall Ferguson, Sunday Telegraph Great fun . brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling Stephen J. Dubner, Co-Author of Freakonomics. Seller Inventory # APG9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
8.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Trade Paperback. Language: English . Brand New Book. Nassim Nicholas Taleb s phenomenal international bestseller The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty. What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great s lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they re impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide . I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person Will Self, Independent on Sunday He leaps like some superhero of the mind Boyd Tonkin, Independent Funny, quirky and thought-provoking . confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot John Cornwell, Sunday Times Idiosyncratically brilliant Niall Ferguson, Sunday Telegraph Great fun . brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling Stephen J. Dubner, Co-Author of Freakonomics. Seller Inventory # APG9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
8.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Bookstore99
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New, Exactly same as listed. Delivery within 3-7 business days. We can ship to PO Box address in US. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe including Asia depending upon the availability of inventory. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Choose expedited shipping for Express delivery. Tracking number provided for every order. Seller Inventory # RI_9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
7.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New, Same as Listed. Choose Expedited shipping for GUARANTEED delivery within 4-5 business days. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days. We may not ship to PO Box, APO , FPO Address, please contact us. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Seller Inventory # AI_9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
9.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books, Limited (Uk)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Books in my Basket
(New Delhi, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, Limited (Uk). Soft cover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 474472

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
6.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.61
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97801410345910000000

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
10.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Taleb Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. Condition: New. pp. xxxiv + 444 + [ii] Illus. Seller Inventory # 6424678

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
5.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nassim Taleb
Published by Penguin 2008-02-28 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin 2008-02-28, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # NU-BER-00025920

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
6.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Nassim Taleb
Published by Penguin 2008-02-28 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin 2008-02-28, 2008. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-GRD-00404231

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book