Items related to The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

3.95 avg rating
( 101,421 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141034591: The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great’s lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they’re impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. A rallying cry to ignore the ‘experts’, The Black Swan shows us how to stop trying to predict everything – and take advantage of uncertainty.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling (Freakonomics)

An idiosyncratically brilliant new book (Sunday Telegraph)

A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected (Guardian)

Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling (Financial Times)

Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot (Sunday Times)

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point (Time)

From the Publisher:

Shortlisted for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award 2007

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9789953876122: The Black Swan (Arabic Edition)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 9953876126 ISBN 13: 9789953876122
Publisher: Arab Scientific Publishers, 2009
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 5294735-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 2008-02-28, London (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780141034591-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New PAP Quantity: 15
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # DB-9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0141034599. Seller Inventory # ST0141034599

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Trade Paperback. Language: English. Brand new Book. The phenomenal international bestseller that shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertaintyWhat have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they're impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. 'Taleb is a bouncy and even exhilarating guide . I came to relish what he said, and even develop a sneaking affection for him as a person' Will Self, Independent on Sunday'He leaps like some superhero of the mind' Boyd Tonkin, Independent. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback / softback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This title deals with this questions. Seller Inventory # B9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780141034591_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin 2010-02-28 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-LBR-9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Published by Penguin 2010-02-28 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9780141034591

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book