Retreat, The: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening

 
9780062674647: Retreat, The: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A week at a retreat becomes a transformational journey of faith renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually wise teaching novel for fans of Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brene Brown.

For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her life and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, Amy is ostracized and banished from the church she loves--resulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy's pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help her rekindle her faith.

At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age-teachers who introduce her to new types of prayer--as well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. In the course of just a few days, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"For those who have been injured by involvement in a church, or other Christian group, or those who simply find evangelicalism to be constraining, The Retreat is like opening a window for fresh air."--Rev. Dr. Paul Sorrentino, Director of Religious & Spiritual Life and Protestant Advisor at Amherst College

"A colorful story that underscores how much contemplative practice is needed in our modern times. With wit and wisdom, Turner captures the complexities of being human and the grace of finding the path that leads home to your true self. Such an important work of fiction for spiritual awakening."--Phileena Heuertz, author of Pilgrimage of a Soul: Contemplative Spirituality for the Active Life (IVP 2010) and Founding Partner, Gravity, a Center for Contemplative Activism

About the Author:

Jacci Turner is an Amazon bestselling author of young adult and middle grade fiction, including Bending Willow, which was chosen to represent Nevada at the National Book Festival. She is the former educational director for the High Sierra Writers group and a member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. Jacci has spent thirty years as a campus minister and is experienced in training spiritual directors. She is also a licensed marriage and family therapist.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Jacci Turner
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2065)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2065. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. A week at a retreat becomes a transformational journey of faith renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually wise teaching novel for fans of Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brene Brown. For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her life and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, Amy is ostracized and banished from the church she loves--resulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy's pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help her rekindle her faith. At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age-teachers who introduce her to new types of prayer--as well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. In the course of just a few days, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God.--Rev. Dr. Paul Sorrentino, Director of Religious & Spiritual Life and Protestant Advisor at Amherst College. Seller Inventory # BTE9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Jacci Turner
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2065)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2065. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. A week at a retreat becomes a transformational journey of faith renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually wise teaching novel for fans of Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brene Brown. For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her life and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, Amy is ostracized and banished from the church she loves--resulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy's pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help her rekindle her faith. At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age-teachers who introduce her to new types of prayer--as well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. In the course of just a few days, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God. Seller Inventory # AAV9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Turner, Jacci
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 30558976-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Turner, Jacci
Published by Harper Legend (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harper Legend, 2017. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0062674641_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Turner, Jacci
Published by HarperCollins (2018)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperCollins, 2018. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

6.

Turner, Jacci
Published by Harperlegend 1/2/2018 (2018)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harperlegend 1/2/2018, 2018. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Retreat: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Turner, Jacci
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 30558976-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Jacci Turner
Published by Harperlegend 2018-01-02 (2018)
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Harperlegend 2018-01-02, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-LSI-9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Jacci Turner
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Print on Demand
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback. Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. New copy - Usually dispatched within 5-9 working days. Seller Inventory # C9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Jacci Turner
Published by 0 0
ISBN 10: 0062674641 ISBN 13: 9780062674647
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description 0 0. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9780062674647

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book