If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus

4.12 avg rating
( 675 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061698767: If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Quaker minister Philip Gulley, author of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love, returns with If the Church Were Christian: a challenging and thought-provoking examination of the author s vision for today s church... if Christians truly followed the core values of Jesus Christ. Fans of Shane Claiborne, Rob Bell, and unChristian will find much to discuss in If the Church Were Christian, as will anyone interested in the future of this institution. While many denominations claim to be growing, the largest group in American religious life is the disillusioned people who have been involved in the church yet see few similarities between the church's life and the person of Jesus. In the midst of elaborate programming, professional worship teams, and political crusades, they ask, "Is this really what Jesus called us to do?" While the church has dismissed these people as uncommitted and lacking in faith, perhaps the opposite is true. Their commitment to authentic spirituality over institutional idolatry might be the very corrective the church needs. These people respect Jesus, but question what Christianity has become. In If the Church Were Christian, Quaker pastor and author Philip Gulley explores how the church has lost its way. This eye-opening examination of the values of Jesus reveals the extent to which the church has drifted from the teachings of the man who inspired its creation. Many Christians might be surprised to discover how little Jesus had to say about the church, and that he might never have intended to start a new religion. But the church is here to stay, and Gulley is determined to help the church find its soul. If the church were Christian, Gulley argues, affirming our potential would be more important than condemning our brokenness. If the church were Christian, inviting questions would be valued more than supplying answers. If the church were Christian, meeting needs would be more important than maintaining institutions. These simple statements return us to the heart of what Jesus cared about during his ministry. Gulley provides a profound picture of what the church would look like if it refocused on the real priorities of Jesus.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Philip Gulley s vision of Christianity is grounded, gripping, and filled with uncommon sense. He is building bridges instead of boundaries, and such wisdom is surely needed now. --Richard Rohr, O.F.M, author of Everything Belongs

From the Back Cover:

While many denominations claim to be growing, the largest group in American religious life is the disillusioned—people who have been involved in the church yet see few similarities between the church's life and the person of Jesus. In the midst of elaborate programming, professional worship teams, and political crusades, they ask, "Is this really what Jesus called us to do?"

While the church has dismissed these people as uncommitted and lacking in faith, perhaps the opposite is true. Their commitment to authentic spirituality over institutional idolatry might be the very corrective the church needs. These people respect Jesus, but question what Christianity has become.

In If the Church Were Christian, Quaker pastor and author Philip Gulley explores how the church has lost its way. This eye-opening examination of the values of Jesus reveals the extent to which the church has drifted from the teachings of the man who inspired its creation. Many Christians might be surprised to discover how little Jesus had to say about the church, and that he might never have intended to start a new religion.

But the church is here to stay, and Gulley is determined to help the church find its soul. If the church were Christian, Gulley argues, affirming our potential would be more important than condemning our brokenness. If the church were Christian, inviting questions would be valued more than supplying answers. If the church were Christian, meeting needs would be more important than maintaining institutions.

These simple statements return us to the heart of what Jesus cared about during his ministry. Gulley provides a profound picture of what the church would look like if it refocused on the real priorities of Jesus.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061698774: If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0061698776 ISBN 13: 9780061698774
Publisher: HarperOne, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Philip Gulley
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SZ Global
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)

Book Description Condition: New. The author of If Grace Is True and If God Is Love challenges today's church to become what it could be if Christians truly followed the core values of Jesus. 35,000 first printing. Seller Inventory # 9780061698767

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.70
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Gulley, Philip
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0061698768

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.42
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Philip Gulley
ISBN 10: 0061698768 ISBN 13: 9780061698767
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0061698768

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
51.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds