Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge

3.34 avg rating
( 637 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061118067: Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Jesus Freaks A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

This book shows how being in the right place at the right time can still be so wrong. Centered on The Family (The Family Internation, Children of God, etc) this book follows from the creation of The Family up through and beyond the suicide/murder of their so-named prophet son. Not only did I get the sordid details of this cult, I also gained a better understanding of the 60's/70's turmoil that the flower children and hippies came from. It definitely made me look at the Haight/Ashbury neighborhood completely new. There is a fair amount of abuse and cursing, however, Don Lattin really sparked my curiousity. He also gave the websites so that I could go and read some of the stuff myself. Definitely recommended. --http://www.paperbackswap.com/Jesus-Freaks-True-Don-Lattin/review/0061118060/

About the Author:

Don Lattin is one of the nation's leading journalists covering alternative and mainstream religious movements and figures in America. His work has appeared in dozens of U.S. magazines and newspapers, including the San Francisco Chronicle, where he covered the religion beat for nearly two decades. Lattin has also worked as a consultant and commentator for Dateline, Primetime, Good Morning America, Nightline, Anderson Cooper 360, and PBS's Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly. He is the author of Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge, and Following Our Bliss: How the Spiritual Ideals of the Sixties Shape Our Lives Today, and is the coauthor of Shopping for Faith: American Religion in the New Millennium.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061118043: Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0061118044 ISBN 13: 9780061118043
Publisher: HarperOne, 2007
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Don Lattin
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Paperback Quantity available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Jesus Freaks is the story of a 2005 murder/suicide that shed new light on one of the most controversial religious movements to emerge from the spiritual turmoil of the 1960s and 1970s. Award-winning journalist Don Lattin has written a fascinating and frightening book that follows the history of this cult through the eyes of Ricky Rodriguez, one of its victims. During the 1960s, David "Moses" Berg, a former minister, left his mainstream Pentecostal roots to embrace a bizarre interpretation of evangelical Christianity, which was known by several names, including Children of God and Family International. Ricky "Davidito" Rodriguez was the first child born into the group. Ricky was sexually abused as a child, left the Family as an adult, and went on to murder a Family leader before his own suicide. He has since become a martyr for a lost generation that has now returned to haunt the Children of God. Don Lattin is one of the nation's leading journalists, covering alternative and mainstream religious movements and figures in America. Over the past three decades he has covered Peoples Temple leader Jim Jones, Branch Davidian prophet David Koresh, and Heaven's Gate founder Marshall Applewhite. He has also written extensively about the rise of the Christian right in the United States and the emergence of radical Islamists around the world. "Riveting exploration of one example of religion gone terribly wrong." - Kirkus Reviews. Seller Inventory # AAV9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Lattin, Don
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Quantity available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 5524169-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.91
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

3.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne 9/2/2008 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Paperback or Softback Quantity available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne 9/2/2008, 2008. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ00AH3P_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ00AH9B_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Softcover Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.88
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Lattin, Don
Published by KUPERARD (BRAVO LTD) (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New PAP Quantity available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description KUPERARD (BRAVO LTD), 2008. PAP. Condition: New. Illustrated. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # CW-9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

8.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Paperback. Condition: new. Illustrated. Seller Inventory # 9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Don Lattin
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Paperback Quantity available: > 20
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Illustrated. Paperback. In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's "Under the Banner of Heaven," Don Lattin's "Jesus Freaks" is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two pe.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 236 pages. 0.222. Seller Inventory # 9780061118067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Lattin, Don
Published by HarperOne (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061118060 ISBN 13: 9780061118067
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperOne, 2008. Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0061118060-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book