Items related to The Secret Dead: A Novella: The thrilling murder-mystery...

The Secret Dead: A Novella: The thrilling murder-mystery short story in the Sunday Times bestselling Giordano Bruno series

3.99 avg rating
( 1,108 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780008102098: The Secret Dead: A Novella: The thrilling murder-mystery short story in the Sunday Times bestselling Giordano Bruno series
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom.

Even the dead have a story to tell...

Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order – despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions.

Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death.

His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried – and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for S. J. Parris:

· ‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

· ‘Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

· ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

· ‘Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

· ‘Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

· ‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

1.

S.J. Parris
Published by Harpercollins Publishers, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy, from Parris's Sunday Times bestselling series. Even the dead have a story to tell. Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order - despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions. Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death. His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried - and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family. Praise for S. J. Parris: 'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse 'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph Fascinating . The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden 'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The Ashes of London 'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London' The Times 'Full of surprises' TLS Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy, from Parris's Sunday Timesbestselling series. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

S. J. Parris (author)
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2014-07-17, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Softcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. First Edition. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN0008102090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Softcover Quantity: 6
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780008102098_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

S. J. Parris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0008102090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. Num Pages: 52 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 122 x 201 x 5. Weight in Grams: 70. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.44
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0008102090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. Num Pages: 52 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 122 x 201 x 5. Weight in Grams: 70. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.01
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity: 11
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001262141

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 19
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. Seller Inventory # B9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book