Parris, S. J. The Secret Dead: A Novella

ISBN 13: 9780008102098

The Secret Dead: A Novella

3.92 avg rating
( 644 ratings by Goodreads )
)  
9780008102098: The Secret Dead: A Novella
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom.

Even the dead have a story to tell...

Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order – despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions.

Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death.

His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried – and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for S. J. Parris:

· ‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

· ‘Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins’ Daily Telegraph

· ‘Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please’ The Times

· ‘Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth’s security’ TLS

· ‘Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

· ‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabth I’ Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author:

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom. A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy, from Parris's Sunday Times bestselling series. Even the dead have a story to tell. Naples, 1566. During a sweltering summer, eighteen-year-old Giordano Bruno takes his final vows at San Domenico Maggiore and is admitted to the Dominican Order - despite doubts over his tendency to ask difficult questions. Assisting in the infirmary, Bruno witnesses an illicit autopsy performed on the body of a young woman. Her corpse reveals a dark secret, and Bruno suspects that hers may not have been an accidental death. His investigation leads him to a powerful figure who wants to keep the truth buried - and Bruno is forced to make a choice between his future in the Order, and justice for an innocent victim and her grieving family. Praise for S. J. Parris: 'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse 'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph Fascinating . The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden 'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The Ashes of London 'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London' The Times 'Full of surprises' TLS. Seller Inventory # AA89780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

S. J Parris (author)
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2014-07-17, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2014-07-17, London, 2014. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Parris, S. J.
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FC-9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Harper, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0008102090

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
30.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

S.J. Parris
ISBN 10: 0008102090 ISBN 13: 9780008102098
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom.A short story featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy, from Parris's Sunday Times bestselling series. Even the dead have a stor.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 64 pages. 0.068. Seller Inventory # 9780008102098

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 29.44
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds