AbeBooks Home

Pages & Proofs

A book blog from the staff at AbeBooks.co.uk

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Armistead Maupin’s final installment for Tales of the City

And finally Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City series is coming to an end. Just published, The Days of Anna Madrigal is the ninth and final book about life in San Francisco from a series of novels that began in 1978 with Tales of the City. I read the first six books in the 1990s (like Mary Ann Singleton, I was a newbie in a strange city at the time) and found Maupin’s collection of characters easy to like. It was definitely a literary soap opera. Laura Miller offers an interesting review of this concluding book in The Guardian.

Like everyone else, you have to say ‘goodness, San Francisco has changed’ during the course of this series. Not so many hippies now. AIDS came along and altered everything for the city. The young folks were Generation X and now they are Generation Y. These books by Maupin span several generations. I find it impossible to visit San Francisco without thinking of Tales of the City.

The latest book brings the series right up to date with 28 Barbary Lane, Mrs Madrigal boarding house, being bought by dot.com people who have turned San Francisco into a technology centre.

The full Tales of the City series is Tales of the City (1978), More Tales of the City (1980), Further Tales of the City (1982), Babycakes (1984), Significant Others (1987), Sure of You (1989), Michael Tolliver Lives (2007), Mary Ann in Autumn (2010)  and The Days of Anna Madrigal (2014).

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!