Stock Image

Watch With Me: And Six Other Stories of the Yet-Remembered Ptolemy Proudfoot and His Wife, Miss Minnie, Nee Quinch

Berry, Wendell

Published by Pantheon Books, New York, New York, U.S.A., 1994
ISBN 10: 0679434690 / ISBN 13: 9780679434696
/ Condition: Very Good / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 1
From The Red Onion Bookshoppe (Hanover, IN, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: 27.88
Convert Currency
Shipping: 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Watch With Me: And Six Other Stories of the ...

Publisher: Pantheon Books, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1994

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Edition: First Edition

Description:

book and dust jacket have been lightly worn, rubbed, and soiled. Bookseller Inventory # 013285

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.35 avg rating
(229 ratings)

Synopsis: In these seven interrelated stories we are again invited to Port William, Kentucky. Rich with humor and wisdom, this collection describes the depth of affection and tolerance for eccentricity that these neighbors bear toward one another, and highlights the comic and often poignant ways they cope with the intrusions of the 20th century into their idyllic, agrarian world.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Review: Praise for A Small Porch

"[Berry's] essays, poetry and fiction have fertilized a crop of great solace in my life, and helped to breed a healthy flock of good manners, to boot. As I travel this unlikely road of opportunity, as a woodworker and writer, sure, but most often as a jackass, I have his writings upon which to fix my mind and my heart, to keep my life's errant wagon between the ditches, as it were. Mr. Berry's sentences and stories deliver a great payload of edifying entertainment, which I hungrily consume, but it is the bass note of morality thumping through his musical phrases that guides me with the most constant of hands upon my plow." --Nick Offerman, New York Times bestselling author of Paddle Your Own Canoe

"Thoreau would be gratified . . . Here are Sabbath Poems that praise the given life."--Lexington Herald-Leader

"[Berry's poems] shine with a gentle wisdom of a craftsman who has thought deeply about the paradoxical strangeness and wonder of life." --The Christian Science Monitor

"Wendell Berry is one of those rare individuals who speaks to us always of responsibility, of the individual cultivation of an active and aware participation in the arts of life, be they those of composing a poem, preparing a hill for planting, raising a family, working for the good of oneself and one's neighbors, loving." --The Bloomsbury Review

"Berry's craftsmanship remains impeccable. Few other poets have such chaste and precise diction or manage line and stanza with such unaffected serenity." --Booklist

Praise for It All Turns on Affection

"These powerful, challenging essays show why Berry's vision of a sustainable, human-scaled society has proven so influential." --Publishers Weekly

Praise for Imagination in Place

"Berry's latest collection of essays is the reminiscence of a literary life. It is a book that acknowledges a lifetime of intellectual influences, and in doing so, positions Berry more squarely as a cornerstone of American literature... a necessary book. Here, Berry's place as the 'grandfather of slow food' or the 'prophet of rural living' is not questioned. This book ensures we understand the depth and breadth of Berry's art." --San Francisco Chronicle

"[A] stellar collection... Berry turns over well-tilled, ever-fertile ground in Imagination in Place. His ideas flow beyond the channels of agrarian enthusiasm. Foodies, architects, transportation engineers, and other writers are adopting and adapting his concepts, perhaps leading to what he envisions will one day be 'an authentic settlement of our country.'" --The Oregonian

"For those who've already come to admire Berry's moral clarity and closely argued critiques of contemporary society, Imagination in Place is a welcome chance to continue the conversation." --Christian Science Monitor

Praise for The Hidden Wound

"A profound, passionate, crucial piece of writing... Few readers, and I think, no writers will be able to read it without a small pulse of triumph at the temples: the strange, almost communal sense of triumph one feels when someone has written truly well... The statement it makes is intricate and beautiful, sad but strong." --Washington Post

"Berry has produced one of the most humane, honest, liberating works of our time. It is a beautiful book. More than that, it has become at one stroke an essential book. Every American who can read at all should read it." --Village Voice

"One of the most impressive aspects of Berry's book is the authentic simplicity of his style, the directness with which that style can accommodate Tolstoy, Malcolm X, work songs, anecdotes, speculation, and polemic indignation... The strength of this book is its connecting America's two major problems: the exploiting of men and land; it deserves as wide an audience as possible." --Louisville Courier-Journal

"One of the most touching and true personal testaments concerned with our country's racial dilemma." --Publishers Weekly

"The brunt of the book is to wake us up, page after page, from stupidity. 'It is a kind of death, ' Montaigne said, 'to avoid the pain of well doing, or trouble of well living.' Wendell Berry makes that observation rip the air like an alarm clock." --Guy Davenport, author of The Death of Picasso

Praise for A Continuous Harmony

"This book is broad and leisurely and important. Something like the river itself on which Wendell Berry lives. It is full of wide and flowing thoughts and one thing leads to another in the manner that nature intended--or used to. The language ranges from the grave and beautiful to the sharp and specific, depending on the need to express the vast variety of subjects he presents." --The Nation

Praise for Citizenship Papers

"The courage of a book, it has been said, is that it looks away from nothing. Here is a brave book." --Charlotte Observer

"Berry says that these recent essays mostly say again what he has said before. His faithful readers may think he hasn't, however, said any of it better before." --Booklist, Starred Review

"His refusal to abandon the local for the global, to sacrifice neighborliness, community integrity, and economic diversity for access to Wal-Mart, has never seemed more appealing, nor his questions of personal accountability more powerful." --Kirkus

Praise for Another Turn of the Crank: Essays

"Read [Berry] with pencil in hand, make notes and hope that somehow our country and the world will soon come to see the truth that is told here." --New York Times

"The rarest (and highest) of literary classes consist of that small group of authors who are absolutely inimitable... One of the half-dozen living American authors who belongs in this class is Wendell Berry." --Los Angeles Times

"Berry is a philosopher, poet, novelist and an essayist in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau . . . like Thoreau, he marches to a different drummer, a drummer we would do well to be aware of, if not to march to." --San Francisco Chronicle

"The best serious essayist now at work in the United States." --Edward Abbey, author of Hayduke Lives

"Berry is the prophetic American voice of our day." --Christian Science Monitor

"A Kentucky farmer and writer, and perhaps the great moral essayist of our day, Berry has produced one of his shortest but also most powerful volumes." --New York Review of Books

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Bank Draft
  • Cash
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: The Red Onion Bookshoppe
Address: Hanover, IN, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: 08 September 2005
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

MC/VISA accepted. Checks and money orders are preferred (payable to The Red Onion Bookshoppe). PayPal is available. If you wish to return a book, please notify us within 5 business days of receipt of the book. We will refund purchase price (only) on all books returned to us in the same condition as shipped.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping via USPS Media Mail: Shipping costs are based on a book weighing 1LB. If your book exceeds the weight limit or is oversized, or you request any expedited shipping method, or shipment outside USA, extra costs may apply. Insurance will be charged for items over $50. Otherwise, Insurance is the option of the buyer who assumes loss liability on shipped but undelivered items if this option is not taken. Any additional costs will be added to purchase price. We will contact prior to shipping to quote extra costs for approval as applicable. Drop shipments are not desired without prior approval and will require delivery confirmation absent insurance unless covered under the prior approval.


Store Description: River Bluff Books is located high on a bluff overlooking the mighty Ohio River a few miles downstream from Historic Madison, IN.