Stock Image

The Viennese Minor-Key Symphony in the Age of Haydn and Mozart

Riley, Matthew

Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0199349673 / ISBN 13: 9780199349678
New / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
List Price:
Price: 70.36
Convert Currency
Shipping: 0
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Viennese Minor-Key Symphony in the Age ...

Publisher: Oxford University Press

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New


In late eighteenth-century Vienna and the Habsburg territories, over 50 minor-key symphonies were written. Their distinctive stormy character, nervous energy and intense pathos make them a unique phenomenon. Num Pages: 304 pages, 15 tables, 96 music examples, 5 figures. BIC Classification: AVGC4. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 164 x 235 x 26. Weight in Grams: 530. . 2014. 1st Edition. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780199349678

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
0 avg rating
(0 ratings)

Synopsis: In late eighteenth-century Vienna and the surrounding Habsburg territories, over 50 minor-key symphonies by at least 11 composers were written. These include some of the best-known works of the symphonic repertoire, such as Haydn's 'Farewell' Symphony and Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550. The driving energy, intense pathos and restlessness of these compositions demand close attention and participation from the listener, and pose urgent questions about meaning and interpretation.

In response to these questions, The Viennese Minor-Key Symphony in the Age of Haydn and Mozart combines historical perspectives with recent developments in music analysis to shed new light on this distinctive part of the repertoire. Through an intertextual, analytical approach, author Matthew Riley treats the minor-key symphony as a subgenre of several strands, reconstructing the compositional world it occupied. His work enables signals to be understood, puts characteristic strategies in clear relief, and ultimately reveals the significance this music held for both composers and listeners of the time. Riley gives us a fresh picture of the familiar masterpieces of Haydn and Mozart, while also focusing on lesser known composers.

About the Author:
Matthew Riley is Senior Lecturer at the University of Birmingham. His research interests include Classical and Romantic instrumental music, music and nationalism, and the music of Edward Elgar.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Kennys Bookstore
Address: Olney, MD, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: 09 October 2009
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to,

Conor Kenny

Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.

Store Description: We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.