Stock Image

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Bradley Alan

121,386 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0752891944 / ISBN 13: 9780752891941
Published by Orion, 2009
Condition: Good Soft cover
From Books Express (Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since 14 August 2015 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: 72.74 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

About this Item

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0752891944

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Publisher: Orion

Publication Date: 2009

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:Good

About this title

Synopsis:

It is June 1950, and a sleepy English village is about to be awakened by the discovery of a dead body in Colonel de Luce's cucumber patch. The police are baffled, and when a dead snipe is deposited on the Colonel's doorstep with a rare stamp impaled on its beak, they are baffled even more. Only the Colonel's daughter, the precocious Flavia - when she's not plotting elaborate acts of revenge against her nasty older sisters in her basement chemistry laboratory, that is - has the ingenuity to follow the clues that reveal the victim's identity, and a conspiracy that reaches back into the de Luce family's murky past.

Flavia and her family are brilliant creations, adding a darkly playful and wonderfully atmospheric flavour to a plot of delightful ingenuity.

Review:

Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders:
The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite

(Mail on Sunday)

Certain to become a national treasure (Daily Mail)

Delightfully entertaining (Guardian)

Flavia is enchanting (New York Times)

A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing (Independent)

Flavia is mercilessly addictive (Daily Telegraph)

A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises (Essentials)

At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference (Choice)

It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild (Crime Squad)

Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous (Deadly Pleasures)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Buy with confidence. Excellent customer service. 30 day return policy.

Books Express LLC
1465 Woodbury Ave
#400
Portsmouth NH 03801

Shipping Terms:

Default shipping is by USPS Media Mail and frequently USPS Priority Mail or UPS Ground is used. Books should arrive within 5-45 business days for expedited shipping, and 7-60 business days for standard shipping. Standard shipping can on occasion take up to 60 days for delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)