Strange Flesh: A Novel

Michael Olson

Published by Simon & Schuster, 2013
ISBN 10: 1451627580 / ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
From Books Express (Kittery, ME, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 1451627580n

About this title:

Synopsis: In this “complex, cutting-edge debut” for fans of Neal Stephenson and The Millennium Trilogy, a troubled hacker goes undercover to locate a vanished tech prodigy and finds himself at the center of a tantalizing, high-stakes revolution in virtual reality (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

In This Debut Thriller For Fans Of Neal Stephenson And The Millennium Trilogy, A Troubled Hacker Finds Himself At The Center Of A High-Stakes Revolution In Virtual Reality.

James Pryce, a hacker at Red Rook Security in Manhattan, has just received his most personal assignment yet. Blythe Randall, the woman who broke his heart in college, has hired him to locate her missing brother, Billy, whose increasingly violent stunts threaten to bring down their family’s billion-dollar media empire. To do so, James must infiltrate Billy’s last known whereabouts: Game, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that promises a revolutionary advance in sexual technology. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the Gamers invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizingand much more dangerousturn.

Review: "[An] entertaining entry into the cyber-thriller genre."--The Toronto Star

"In his head-spinning literary thriller, Olson takes us down a rabbit hole of kinky cybersex and multilevel mystery. . . . Reads like John Fowles' The Magus reimagined by William Gibson on a Red Bull bender . . . [a] complex, cutting edge debut."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Strange Flesh is compelling cyberpunk, filled with plausible cyberwizardry, clever wordplay, murder, betrayal, and heaping helpings of gamer culture and kinky cybersex. Olson skillfully portrays worlds few readers know: quirky computing and robotics geniuses; Harvard's wealthy, privileged undergraduate royalty; and the surpassingly strange world of online gamers. . . . Crimes, both high and low; bleeding-edge technology; and titillation: What's not to love?"--Booklist (starred review)

"Readers can choose their poison in this richly composed slab of transgressive fiction by debut novelist Olson--say, a healthy measure of Neal Stephenson crossed with a slice of Warren Ellis with a serious splash of Nicholson Baker's sex novels. Crossing the barrier between sex, games and virtual reality, the book is likely to be the only Marquis de Sade-influenced thriller this year. . . . For readers with a penchant for this volatile mix of sex, violence and technology, the payoff is rich indeed."--Kirkus Reviews

"Strange Flesh is a fascinating novel about emerging technology . . . If you enjoy [Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, and Stieg Larsson], as well as Ernest Cline's great Ready Player One, and a fresh look at where things might be headed with our technology this is one intriguing read. . . . An amazing debut."--BlogCritics.org

"If The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a titillating introduction to hacker noir, then Strange Flesh seduces us into a rocking threesome with it. Blending taut suspense with tech savvy and vigorous prose, Michael Olson shows us a world so salacious, the real one looks flaccid by comparison. This debut tour de force will leave mystery fans flushed, breathless, and begging for more."--Dustin Thomason, coauthor of the New York Times bestseller The Rule of Four

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Strange Flesh: A Novel
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: New
Edition: Reprint.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Olson, Michael
Published by Simon & Schuster (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2013. Condition: Very Good. Reprint. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP68204170

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Olson, Michael
Published by Simon & Schuster (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2013. Condition: Good. Reprint. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP77577893

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Olson, Michael
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR009393333

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books-FYI, Inc.
(Cadiz, KY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: VeryGood. Seller Inventory # 23MA3O00B2QI

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
1.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.96
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Michael Olson
Published by Simon & Schuster (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2013. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 1451627580-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Olson, Michael
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1451627580

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Olson, Michael
Published by Simon & Schuster 2/12/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster 2/12/2013, 2013. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Strange Flesh. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781451627589

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Olson, Michael
Published by Simon and Schuster (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Simon and Schuster, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9781451627589

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Michael Olson
Published by SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. In this "complex, cutting-edge debut" for fans of Neal Stephenson and The Millennium Trilogy, a troubled hacker goes undercover to locate a vanished tech prodigy and finds himself at the center of a tantalizing, high-stakes revolution in virtual reality (Publishers Weekly, starred review). IN THIS DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF NEAL STEPHENSON AND THE MILLENNIUM TRILOGY, A TROUBLED HACKER FINDS HIMSELF AT THE CENTER OF A HIGH-STAKES REVOLUTION IN VIRTUAL REALITY. James Pryce, a hacker at Red Rook Security in Manhattan, has just received his most personal assignment yet. Blythe Randall, the woman who broke his heart in college, has hired him to locate her missing brother, Billy, whose increasingly violent stunts threaten to bring down their family's billion-dollar media empire. To do so, James must infiltrate Billy's last known whereabouts: GAME, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that promises a revolutionary advance in sexual technology. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the GAMErs invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizing--and much more dangerous--turn. Seller Inventory # APC9781451627589

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Michael Olson
Published by Simon & Schuster Export 2013-02-12 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1451627580 ISBN 13: 9781451627589
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Export 2013-02-12, 2013. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 4-5 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-ING-27470027

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 7 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book