Stock Image

The Songs of Michael Flanders and Donald Swann

Flanders, Michael; Swann, Donald

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0241897386 / ISBN 13: 9780241897386
Published by Elm Tree Books and St George's Press, London, 1977
Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Turn-The-Page Books (Seattle, WA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since 01 October 2001

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: 33.10 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

About this Item

Large book: no international orders. A bit of faint foxing to page edges, otherwise a clean and unmarked copy. First printing. 223pp. Dust jacket, very slightly rubbed at tips, offered in a new mylar cover. Size: 4to - over 9" - 12" Tall. Bookseller Inventory # 037428

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Songs of Michael Flanders and Donald ...

Publisher: Elm Tree Books and St George's Press, London

Publication Date: 1977

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Edition: First Edition.

About this title


The British duo, Flanders and Swann, were the actor and singer Michael Flanders (1922-1975) and the composer, pianist and linguist Donald Swann (1923-1994) who collaborated in writing and performing comic songs. A chance meeting in 1948 led to a musical partnership writing songs and light opera that have been sung by performers such as Ian Wallace and Joyce Grenfell.

In December 1956, Flanders and Swann performed their own two-man revue "At The Drop Of A Hat", which opened on New Year's Eve. Over the course of 11 years, Flanders and Swann gave nearly 2,000 live performances. Although their performing partnership ended in 1967, they remained friends afterwards and collaborated on occasional projects.

Songs of Flanders and Swann brings together 41 classic songs and represents a definitive collection.


  • In The Bath
  • Design For Living
  • Misalliance
  • The Gas-Man Cometh
  • A Song Of The Weather
  • Pillar To Post
  • Rain On The Plage
  • Motor Perpetuo
  • Slow Train
  • A Transport Of Delight (Omnibus)
  • Last Of The Line
  • Twenty Tons Of TNT
  • The Reluctant Cannibal
  • Pee-Po-Belly-Bum-Drawers
  • Budget Song
  • Ballad For The Rich
  • All Gall
  • Philological Waltz (Tonga)
  • Song Of Patriotic Prejudice
  • The Lord Chamberlain's Regulations
  • The Album
  • Ill Wind **Trinity Guildhall selected piece: Singing syllabus 2010-2012
  • Guide To Britten
  • Song Of Reproduction
  • Bedstead Men
  • Excelsior
  • Vanessa
  • Twice Shy
  • Madeira, M'dear?
  • The Armadillo
  • The Hippopatamus **ABRSM selected piece: Singing syllabus from 2009 **Trinity Guildhall selected piece: Singing syllabus 2010-2012
  • The Ostrich
  • The Elephant
  • The Gnu
  • The Rhinoceros
  • The Sloth
  • The Spider
  • The Wild Boar
  • The Whale (Mopy Dick)
  • The Warthog **ABRSM selected piece: Singing syllabus from 2009
  • The Wompom.
  • "About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

    Store Description

    Visit Seller's Storefront

    Terms of Sale:

    We gladly accept checks and money orders in U.S. dollars and drawn on a U.S. bank. We also accept VISA, Mastercard and Discover card orders through email or by phone. We accept payment by all major credit cards through, and also through the very secure Abebooks shopping cart. Returns: Any books received in "not as described" condition can be returned for a full refund, including return shipping. In these extremely rare instances, please email us of intent to return.

    Peter Kohler & Sus...

    More Information
    Shipping Terms:

    USPS Media Mail - $3.00 for the first book, $1.50 for each additional; or Priority - $8.50 for the first book, $4.00 for each additional. For special arrangements, including international, please do email us. Libraries and institutions can be invoiced.

    List this Seller's Books

    Payment Methods
    accepted by seller

    Visa Mastercard American Express

    Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft