Stock Image
The Snowfly: Joseph Heywood

The Snowfly

Joseph Heywood

Published by The Lyons Press, New York, 2000
ISBN 10: 1585740209 / ISBN 13: 9781585740208
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Oshtemo Book Sellers (Kalamazoo, MI, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: 114.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Snowfly

Publisher: The Lyons Press, New York

Publication Date: 2000

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition


"The Snowfly is a spellbinding novel of suspense, international intrigue, and fly-fishing." This very entertaining novel takes the reader from the authors home in Michigan to the war in Vietnam, to intrigues in the now scraped Soviet Union to a scrapyard fishing hole in the Western United States. From Key West and back to the upper peninsula of Michigan. The novel is " a wry den up of fly fishing folklore that writes its own rules and ,in the process, creates that great rarity; a brand new fable. The Snowfly is a magical whirlwind of a novel, squarely in the tradition of Tim O'Brian's Going After Cacciato and Jim Harrison's ( another Michigan writer) Legends of the Fall." This mylar protected unread masterpiece ( I read a paperback copy) is boldly SIGNED on the title page. This first edition, first printing is a great collectible and a great read. Bookseller Inventory # 000963

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
4.17 avg rating
(228 ratings)

Synopsis: "The Snowfly" is a spellbinding novel of suspense, international intrigue, and fly fishing. The holy grail that burns at the core of the novel is the snowfly, a legendary insect that attracts trout of such size that they couldn't possibly exist in the world as we know it.Bowie Rhodes is a UPI reporter and a fly fisherman of extraordinary talent. He learns of the myth of the snowfly early in his childhood: The giant snowfly hatches every seven years, never on the same river twice. It brings to rise only trout that strain the imagination: trout so huge they would have to have lived forty years or more, so wily that they never allow themselves to be caught, or even seen, so hungry for this fly that they will risk exposure to rise for the hatch. The snowfly is the sacred quest of only the most obsessed trout hunters, and has been seen by no living person, existing only in myth and in a lost manuscript. Rhodes's hunt for the manuscript brings him to the extremes of humanity -- the jungles of Vietnam, the subterfuges of Brezhnev's Soviet Union, a poisoned Canadian wasteland of uranium mines, and deep into his own heart of darkness.The world Heywood creates is broader, more wild, with more mystery lurking beneath the surface waters than our own. Or is it? "The Snowfly" makes it all seem gloriously possible. Richly imaginative and sexy, this is an irresistible novel for anyone who loves a good thriller and for fly fishermen everywhere.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Cash on Delivery (COD)
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Oshtemo Book Sellers
Address: Kalamazoo, MI, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: 29 August 2011
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.

Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Store Description: Specializing in First Editions, Limited editions, artist made books and signed editions. All orders are carefully packaged.