Stock Image

Quattrocento (Spanish Edition)

503 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 8466609725 / ISBN 13: 9788466609722
New Condition: New
Buy New
List Price: 19.00
Price: £ 62.15 Convert Currency
Shipping: £ 3.03 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

Offered By

Grandisbooks
Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since 18 May 2015

About this Item

New and unused. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 3148LU0018YN

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Quattrocento (Spanish Edition)

Book Condition: New

About this title

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Time and Again, a sweeping love story/time-travel epic situated between the modern-day New York art world and fifteenth-century Tuscany.

Matt O’Brien has a quiet life: A painting restorer with a particular love of the Quattrocento period of the Italian Renaissance, he toils away millimeter by millimeter, bringing old oils to new light. But one day he happens upon a painting in the basement of the Metropolitan Museum that is thick with centuries of yellowed varnish and dust. As he uncovers the portrait of a mysterious, beautiful woman, he finds himself suffering from an urgent sense of déja vu coupled with the pain of falling in love with a person long dead. Meanwhile, strange things have been happening in the museum since the installation of a wood-paneled room from Gubbio called a studiolo. As Matt increasingly seeks refuge in this magical room from the pressures of having potentially discovered a Leonardo da Vinci, the centuries slip away and he finds himself in the center of a love triangle, with Anna on one side and the Machiavellian knight Leandro, fighting for her fortune, on the other.

Obsession and passion combust in this exotic tale that is at once contemporary and rich in period detail. Rooted in art history, music theory, and the rudiments of physics, McKean's debut novel is a mesmerizing tale of time travel and possibility. With twists and turns that are as thrilling as they are unexpected, Quattrocento is escapist storytelling at its very finest.

From the Back Cover:

"The strength of Quattrocento lies in its scope and fearlessness." --The Philadelphia Inquirer

"An intriguing first novel, rich with historical detail and combining art, physics, time travel and a love story." --Booklist

"Jim McKean appears out of nowhere to fashion a high-caliber, genre-busting, page-turning romp between two passionate artists who literally challenge the laws of nature in order to be together. Bravo" --Jenny McPhee, author of The Center of Things

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. This does not affect your statutory consumer rights includ...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express