Stock Image

The Man Who Could Not Sleep and Other Mysteries

Gilbert, Michael

12 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0709091567 / ISBN 13: 9780709091561
Published by Robert Hale Ltd
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since 09 October 2009

Quantity Available: 5

Buy New
Price: 21.51 Convert Currency
Shipping: 0 From U.S.A. to United Kingdom Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

About this Item

Contains four radio plays, including "My Aunt She Died A Month Ago" and "The Game Called Justice", as well as other plays featuring an escaped sex murderer and a wartime betrayal. Num Pages: 224 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 241 x 162 x 26. Weight in Grams: 548. . 2011. hardcover. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780709091561

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Man Who Could Not Sleep and Other ...

Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

About this title


"The Man Who Couldn't Sleep" contains four radio plays by Michael Gilbert, none of which has ever been published before. The solicitor, Henry Bohun - who is the man who couldn't sleep - features in a six-part serial thriller involving secret agents. Other series characters included in this volume are Mr Birley, Mr Rumbold and his son Nap, plus Hargest Macrae Q.C. This collection also contains two previously unpublished synopses for proposed plays: "My Aunt She Died A Month Ago" and "The Game Called Justice", as well as other plays featuring an escaped sex murderer and a wartime betrayal. This collection, edited and introduced by John Cooper, is a must-have for all readers of that fine writer, Michael Gilbert.

About the Author:

Michael Gilbert was one of the greatest post-war crime writers. He received the Crime Writers' Association's highest award, the Cartier Diamond Dagger, for an outstanding contribution to the genre of crime fiction. Also, both the Mystery Writers of America and the Swedish Academy of Detection honoured him as a Grand Master. Michael Gilbert wrote 30 novels and 183 short stories. John Cooper is the co-writer of two editions of the definitive Detective Fiction: The Collector's Guide, as well as Artists in Crime, an illustrated survey of crime fiction first edition dust wrappers between 1920-1970. He also co-authored Children's Fiction 1900-1950. He has edited a collection of short stories by Julian Symons as well as Michael Gilbert's Even Murderers Take Holidays and Other Mysteries.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to,

Conor Kenny

Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express