Stock Image

Listening Well

Ora Frishberg Saloman

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1433103575 / ISBN 13: 9781433103575
Published by Peter Lang Jan 2009, 2009
New Condition: Neu Buch
From Agrios-Buch (Bergisch Gladbach, Germany)

AbeBooks Seller Since 11 January 2012

Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
Price: £ 65.77 Convert Currency
Shipping: £ 8.54 From Germany to United Kingdom Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

About this Item

Neuware - The twelve essays in Listening Well illuminate aesthetic, educative, and evaluative strategies utilized by writers in Paris, Boston, and New York to guide listeners in confronting the challenges of musical modernity between 1764 and 1890. They interpret criticism from treatises, journals, and newspapers for its importance in cultural history and consider the reception of major works by Beethoven and by Berlioz. The essays explore contrasting responses to new operas and symphonies by composers, librettists, authors, critics, and conductors as well as by writers including Chabanon, Lacépède, Berlioz, Urhan, D'Ortigue, Dwight, Fuller, Watson, and Hassard. Readers interested in perceptions of Classicism and Romanticism in music as they relate to French, German, and American literature and criticism will discover how audiences on both sides of the Atlantic were encouraged to listen attentively to the new and controversial in music of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. 253 pp. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781433103575

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Listening Well

Publisher: Peter Lang Jan 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Binding: Buch

Book Condition:Neu

About this title


Book by Saloman Ora Frishberg


"'Listening Well' is a rich collection of linked essays on the challenges and rewards of such great musical works as Beethoven's 'Ninth Symphony'. Ora Frishberg Saloman's book brings up a host of crucial issues including how instrumental music differs from verbal expression and how music functions in opera. 'Listening Well' reminds us of a time - two times, actually: France, 1760-1850, and America, 1840-1890 - when public intellectuals took music seriously." (Ralph P. Locke, Professor of Musicology, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, and Author of 'Music, Musicians, and the Saint-Simonians' and 'Musical Exoticism: Images and Reflections') "'Listening Well' brings together a lifetime body of scholarly insight on topics that deal with musical aesthetics and reception history ranging from Paris to Boston and New York, and from Beethoven to Berlioz. Ora Frishberg Saloman's essays are an important contribution to our understanding of musical life in the nineteenth century in France and America, and, even more, teach us how our musical culture was formed on both continents." (David B. Levy, Professor of Music, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and Author of 'Beethoven: The Ninth Symphony')

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (

der Firma Agrios Buch- und Medienversand UG e.K. ,Geschäftsführer Ludwig Meier, De-Gasperi-Str. 8, 51469 Bergisch Gladbach nachstehend als Verkäufer bezeichnet.

§ 1 Allgemeines, Begriffsbestimmungen

(1) Der Verkäufer bietet unter dem Nutzernamen Agrios Buch unter der Plattform insbesondere Bücher an. Die folgenden Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB) gelten für die Geschäftsbeziehung zwischen dem Verkäufer und dem Kunden in ihrer zum Ze...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Der Versand ins Ausland findet IMMER mit DHL statt. Auch nach Österreich verschicken wir nur mit DHL! Daher Standardversand == Luftpost!

Detailed Seller Information

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check PayPal Invoice Bank/Wire Transfer