Stock Image
Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" - New SIGNED 1st... Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" - New SIGNED 1st... Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" - New SIGNED 1st...

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" - New SIGNED 1st Edition/1st Printing

Dunham, Lena

Published by Random House, 2014
ISBN 10: 081299499X / ISBN 13: 9780812994995
New / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Argyl Houser, Bookseller (Altadena, CA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
List Price:
Price: 77.62
Convert Currency
Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells ...

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: 2014

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

Description:

Flawless brand new 1st Edition/1st Printing hardcover and dust jacket SIGNED by Lena Dunham without personalization at a recent signing event in Los Angeles. "It's not Lena Dunham's candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing--which is full of surprises where you least expect them. This is a fine, subversive book." -- David Sedaris. We will pack this beautiful collector's copy in bubble-wrap to protect its corners and ship it in a sturdy box to make sure it arrives in pristine condition. Bookseller Inventory # ABH145

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.34 avg rating
(90,712 ratings)

Synopsis: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham?the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO?s Girls?as one of the most original young talents writing today.

 
In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one?s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.
 
?Take My Virginity (No Really, Take It)? is the account of Dunham?s first time, and how her expectations of sex didn?t quite live up to the actual event (?No floodgate had been opened, no vault of true womanhood unlocked?); ?Girls & Jerks? explores her former attraction to less-than-nice guys?guys who had perfected the ?dynamic of disrespect? she found so intriguing; ?Is This Even Real?? is a meditation on her lifelong obsession with death and dying?what she calls her ?genetically predestined morbidity.? And in ?I Didn?t F*** Them, but They Yelled at Me,? she imagines the tell-all she will write when she is eighty and past caring, able to reflect honestly on the sexism and condescension she has encountered in Hollywood, where women are ?treated like the paper thingies that protect glasses in hotel bathrooms?necessary but infinitely disposable.?
 
Exuberant, moving, and keenly observed, Not That Kind of Girl is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. ?I?m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you,? Dunham writes. ?But if I can take what I?ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile.?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNAL
 
?The gifted Ms. Dunham not only writes with observant precision, but also brings a measure of perspective, nostalgia and an older person?s sort of wisdom to her portrait of her (not all that much) younger self and her world. . . . By simply telling her own story in all its specificity and sometimes embarrassing detail, she has written a book that?s as acute and heartfelt as it is funny.? ?Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
?Dunham has crafted warm, intelligent writing that is both deeply personal and engaging. . . . [Hers] is not only a voice who deserves to be heard but also one who will inspire other important voices to tell their stories too.? ?Roxane Gay, Time
 
?A lovely, touching, surprisingly sentimental portrait of a woman who, despite repeatedly baring her body and soul to audiences, remains a bit of an enigma: a young woman who sets the agenda, defies classification and seems utterly at home in her own skin.? ?Chicago Tribune
 
?A lot of us fear we don?t measure up beautywise and that we endure too much crummy treatment from men. On these topics, Dunham is funny, wise, and, yes, brave. . . . Among Dunham?s gifts to womankind is her frontline example that some asshole may call you undesirable or worse, and it won?t kill you. Your version matters more.? ?Elle

Product Description: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MICHIKO KAKUTANI, THE NEW YORK TIMES

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BUZZFEED, THE GLOBE AND MAIL, AND LIBRARY JOURNAL

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham?the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO?s Girls?as one of the most original young talents writing today.

 
In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one?s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.
 
?Take My Virginity (No Really, Take It)? is the account of Dunham?s first time, and how her expectations of sex didn?t quite live up to the actual event (?No floodgate had been opened, no vault of true womanhood unlocked?); ?Girls & Jerks? explores her former attraction to less-than-nice guys?guys who had perfected the ?dynamic of disrespect? she found so intriguing; ?Is This Even Real?? is a meditation on her lifelong obsession with death and dying?what she calls her ?genetically predestined morbidity.? And in ?I Didn?t F*** Them, but They Yelled at Me,? she imagines the tell-all she will write when she is eighty and past caring, able to reflect honestly on the sexism and condescension she has encountered in Hollywood, where women are ?treated like the paper thingies that protect glasses in hotel bathrooms?necessary but infinitely disposable.?
 
Exuberant, moving, and keenly observed, Not That Kind of Girl is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. ?I?m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you,? Dunham writes. ?But if I can take what I?ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile.?

Praise for Not That Kind of Girl
 
?The gifted Ms. Dunham not only writes with observant precision, but also brings a measure of perspective, nostalgia and an older person?s sort of wisdom to her portrait of her (not all that much) younger self and her world. . . . As acute and heartfelt as it is funny.? ?Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
?It?s not Lena Dunham?s candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it?s her writing?which is full of surprises where you least expect them. A fine, subversive book.? ?David Sedaris
 
?This book should be required reading for anyone who thinks they understand the experience of being a young woman in our culture. I thought I knew the author rather well, and I found many (not altogether welcome) surprises.? ?Carroll Dunham
 
?Witty, illuminating, maddening, bracingly bleak . . . [Dunham] is a genuine artist, and a disturber of the order.? ?The Atlantic
 
?As Dunham proves beyond a shadow of a doubt in Not That Kind of Girl, she?s not remotely at risk of offering up the same old sentimental tales we?ve read dozens of times.? ?The Los Angeles Review of Books

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Argyl Houser, Bookseller
Address: Altadena, CA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: 05 February 2015
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. This does not affect your statutory consumer rights includ...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Argyl Houser Fine Books exists because I love books and I expect you do too. That means I treat every customer the way I treat friends and family and I treat every book the way I would if I were sending it to a friend or a family member. Every book, no matter the price, is wrapped in bubble-wrap and shipped in a sturdy box so you will get it in great condition. I also keep my prices as low as I can without compromising quality or service. My bookstore is the kind of store I would like to shop in, and I will make every effort to make sure you feel the same way!