Hedge Hogs

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.

Published by Random House USA Inc
ISBN 10: 1400068398 / ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

2013. Hardcover. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: KCX. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 241 x 164 x 27. Weight in Grams: 542. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.62 avg rating
(182 ratings)

Synopsis: For readers of The Smartest Guys in the Room and When Genius Failed, the definitive take on Brian Hunter, John Arnold, Amaranth Advisors, and the largest hedge fund collapse in history

At its peak, hedge fund Amaranth Advisors LLC had more than $9 billion in assets. A few weeks later, it completely collapsed. The disaster was largely triggered by one man: thirty-two-year-old hotshot trader Brian Hunter. His high-risk bets on natural gas prices bankrupted his firm and destroyed his career, while John Arnold, his rival at competitor fund Centaurus, emerged as the highest-paid trader on Wall Street. Meticulously researched and character-driven, Hedge Hogs is a riveting fly-on-the-wall account of the largest hedge fund collapse in history: a blistering tale of the recent past that explains our precarious present . . . and may predict our future.
 
Using emails, instant messages, court testimony, and exclusive interviews, securities analyst turned investigative reporter Barbara T. Dreyfuss charts the colliding paths of these two charismatic traders who dominated the speculative energy market. We follow Brian Hunter, the Canadian farm boy and elbows-out high school basketball star, as he achieves phenomenal early success, only to see his ambition, greed, and hubris precipitate his downfall. Set in relief is the journey of John Arnold, whose mild manner, sophisticated tastes, and low profile belied his own ferocious competitive streak. As the two clash, hundreds of millions of dollars in pension and endowment money is imperiled, with devastating public consequences.
 
Hedge Hogs takes you behind closed doors into the shadowy world of hedge funds, the unregulated wild side of finance, where over-the-top parties and lavish perks abound and billions of dollars of other people?s money are in the hands of a tiny elite. Dreyfuss traces the rise of this freewheeling industry while detailing the decades of bank, hedge fund, and commodity deregulation that turned Wall Street into a speculative casino.
 
A gripping saga peppered with fast money, vivid characters, and high drama, Hedge Hogs is also an important and timely cautionary tale?a vivisection of a financial system jeopardized by reckless practices, watered-down regulation, and loopholes in government oversight, just waiting for the next bust.

Praise for Hedge Hogs
 
?Regulators, legislators and judges inclined to sympathize with the industry ought to rush out and buy a copy of Barbara Dreyfuss?s Hedge Hogs, a wonderfully instructive tale about Amaranth Advisors. . . . Dreyfuss, a Wall Street analyst turned investigative journalist, not only plowed through what turned out to be a treasure trove of official records and transcripts, but supplemented it with plenty of her own reporting. She manages to organize it all into a tight, riveting and understandable yarn.??The Washington Post

?Clearly and entertainingly told . . . a salutary example of how traders who believe they are super-smart might be nothing more than lucky, and how there is nothing so intoxicating as the ability to speculate with other people?s money.??The Economist

?[Dreyfuss] does a great job of putting Amaranth?s out-of-control trader into historical context, explaining the blitz of deregulation that set the stage for someone like Hunter to do maximum damage.??Bloomberg
 
?The definitive take on the largest hedge fund collapse in history . . . You will not be able to put it down.??Frank Partnoy, author of F.I.A.S.C.O. and Infectious Greed

Named One of the Top 10 Business & Economics Books of the Season by Publishers Weekly

About the Author: Barbara T. Dreyfuss was a Wall Street analyst for twenty years, covering health policy issues. She was part of a five-member Washington, D.C., team that consistently won top honors in Institutional Investor magazine?s ranking of Wall Street analysts. She was a senior correspondent  for The American Prospect, and has contributed to The Washington Monthly, Mother Jones, and The Veteran.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Hedge Hogs
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2013. Book Condition: Good. N/A. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP88513824

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goodwill Industries of Central Indiana
(Indianapolis, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Acceptable. This is a hard cover book. The dust jacket shows normal wear and tear. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours. Bookseller Inventory # 3O6C9Q000R3I

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.34
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Barbara T. Dreyfuss
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Horizon Books
(Cleveland, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: like_new. Book and Cover in Good Condition. Bookseller Inventory # V 403536

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.34
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2013. Softcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Bookseller Inventory # OD095237

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. This is a former library book with library stickers and stamps. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001469894

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: Used - Good. 2013. Hardcover. Good. Bookseller Inventory # Z0226105

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Dreyfuss, Barbara T.
Published by Random House 2013-05-21 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2013-05-21, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9781400068395B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.68
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Barbara T. Dreyfuss
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG1400068398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
5.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Barbara T. Dreyfuss
Published by Random House USA Inc (2013)
ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House USA Inc, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Very Good: a copy that has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0007101693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
6.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

ISBN 10: 1400068398 ISBN 13: 9781400068395
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookSleuth
(Sanford, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Hedge Hogs: The Cowboy Traders Behind Wall Street's Largest Hedge Fund Disaster. Bookseller Inventory # Amz4709054

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 22 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book