Stock Image

The Food of Spain

Roden, Claudia

269 ratings by GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0718157192 / ISBN 13: 9780718157197
Published by Michael Joseph
New Condition New Hardcover
From Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.) Quantity Available: 4

Available From More sellers

View all  copies of this book

2012. Hardcover. Helps you to discover Spain's culture and cuisine. This book takes in the different regions and looks at the history, the people and the culture at the heart of this country, and at that which binds it all together - the delicious food and recipes passed down through generations. Num Pages: 512 pages, Full colour integrated photographs. BIC Classification: 1DSE; WBN. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 251 x 195 x 46. Weight in Grams: 1694. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780718157197

About this title:

Synopsis:

Discover Spain's culture and cuisine. Claudia Roden has spent five years researching and writing about the food of Spain, resulting in this definitive, passionate and evocative cookbook which takes in the different regions and looks at the history, the people and the culture at the heart of this country, and at that which binds it all together - the delicious food and recipes passed down through generations. From simple, rustic tapas and delicately flavoured soups, to elaborate celebratory dishes served on silver platters and cakes and desserts each with a story to tell, this is the book about Spain to learn from and to cook from.

From the Back Cover:

In The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden, the James Beard award-winning author of the classics A Book of Middle Eastern Food and The Book of Jewish Food, and one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in this cookbook on the cuisines of Spain.

New York Times bestselling cookbook author Claudia Roden believes that through food a cook can reconstruct an entire world. And in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food?eight hundred recipes long, a treasure trove of folk tales, proverbs, stories, poetry, and local history?that's just what she did. Historian and critic Simon Schama has said of her that "Claudia Roden is no more a simple cookbook writer than Marcel Proust was a biscuit baker." The Book of Jewish Food, another classic, is equally magnificent in its span, a cookbook that is also a history of Jewish life and settlement, told through the story of what Jews ate, and where, and why, and how they made it.

Now, in The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden applies that same remarkable insight, scope, and authority to a cuisine marked by its regionalism and suffused with an unusually particular culinary history. In hundreds of exquisite recipes, Roden explores both the little known and the classic dishes of Spain?from Andalusia to Asturias, from Catalonia to Galicia. And whether she's writing about smoky, nutty Catalan Romesco sauce, Cordero a la Miel?sweet and hot tender lamb stew with honey?or the iconic, emblematic national dish of Spain, saffron-perfumed Paella Valenciana, her clear, elegant, humorous, and passionate voice is a reader's delight, a guide not only to delicious food but to the peoples and cultures that produced it.

Both comprehensive and timeless, The Food of Spain is one of the most important books on this tremendous cuisine to appear in the last fifty years. A classic in the making, it is an essential work not only for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean food but for every serious cook as well as discerning armchair travelers.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Food of Spain

Publisher: Michael Joseph

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New

Payment Methods

Payment Methods Accepted by Seller

Visa Mastercard American Express


Seller Kennys Bookstore
Address: Olney, MD, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Seller Since 09 October 2009
Seller Rating 5-star rating


Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to books@kennys.ie,

Conor Kenny


Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.


Store Description: We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.

Buy New
List Price:
Price: 27.24 Convert Currency
Shipping: 0 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket