The Food of Spain

Roden, Claudia

Published by Michael Joseph, 2012
ISBN 10: 0718157192 / ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
From Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

2012. Hardcover. Helps you to discover Spain's culture and cuisine. This book takes in the different regions and looks at the history, the people and the culture at the heart of this country, and at that which binds it all together - the delicious food and recipes passed down through generations. Num Pages: 512 pages, Full colour integrated photographs. BIC Classification: 1DSE; WBN. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 251 x 195 x 46. Weight in Grams: 1694. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780718157197

About this title:

Synopsis: One of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, Claudia Roden brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in The Food of Spain. The James Beard Award–winning author of the classic cookbooks A Book of Middle Eastern Food and A Book of Jewish Food now graces food lovers with the definitive cookbook on the Spanish cuisine, illustrated with dozens of gorgeous full-color photographs that capture the color and essence of this wonderfully vibrant nation and its diverse people, traditions, and culture.

From the Back Cover:

In The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden, the James Beard award-winning author of the classics A Book of Middle Eastern Food and The Book of Jewish Food, and one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in this cookbook on the cuisines of Spain.

New York Times bestselling cookbook author Claudia Roden believes that through food a cook can reconstruct an entire world. And in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food–eight hundred recipes long, a treasure trove of folk tales, proverbs, stories, poetry, and local history–that's just what she did. Historian and critic Simon Schama has said of her that "Claudia Roden is no more a simple cookbook writer than Marcel Proust was a biscuit baker." The Book of Jewish Food, another classic, is equally magnificent in its span, a cookbook that is also a history of Jewish life and settlement, told through the story of what Jews ate, and where, and why, and how they made it.

Now, in The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden applies that same remarkable insight, scope, and authority to a cuisine marked by its regionalism and suffused with an unusually particular culinary history. In hundreds of exquisite recipes, Roden explores both the little known and the classic dishes of Spain–from Andalusia to Asturias, from Catalonia to Galicia. And whether she's writing about smoky, nutty Catalan Romesco sauce, Cordero a la Miel–sweet and hot tender lamb stew with honey–or the iconic, emblematic national dish of Spain, saffron-perfumed Paella Valenciana, her clear, elegant, humorous, and passionate voice is a reader's delight, a guide not only to delicious food but to the peoples and cultures that produced it.

Both comprehensive and timeless, The Food of Spain is one of the most important books on this tremendous cuisine to appear in the last fifty years. A classic in the making, it is an essential work not only for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean food but for every serious cook as well as discerning armchair travelers.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Food of Spain
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Roden, Claudia
Published by Michael Joseph (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Michael Joseph, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # 1739172

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
13.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Roden, Claudia
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # GB-9780718157197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0718157192. Bookseller Inventory # ST0718157192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Claudia Roden
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 2012-03-15, London (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd 2012-03-15, London, 2012. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780718157197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Claudia Roden
Published by Michael Joseph 2012-03-15 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Michael Joseph 2012-03-15, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04827740

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Roden, Claudia
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 14068930-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Roden, Claudia (Author)
Published by Michael Joseph (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Michael Joseph, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 512 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0718157192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Claudia Roden
Published by Michael Joseph (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Michael Joseph, 2012. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780718157197_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Claudia Roden
Published by Michael Joseph (2012)
ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Michael Joseph, 2012. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780718157197

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

ISBN 10: 0718157192 ISBN 13: 9780718157197
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0718157192. Bookseller Inventory # ST0718157192

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 8 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book