Stock Image
Christmas in Plains : Memories *Signed: Carter, Jimmy

Christmas in Plains : Memories *Signed

Carter, Jimmy

399 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0743224914 / ISBN 13: 9780743224918
Published by Simon & Schuster Trade, New York, NY, U.S.A., 2001
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Barbara Mader - Children's Books (University Place, WA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since 02 April 1997

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

First printing. FINE in a FINE dust jacket; SIGNED on title page at store booksigning by President Jimmy Carter (signed "J Carter.") In unread, mint condition. Bookseller Inventory # 81121908

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Christmas in Plains : Memories *Signed

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Trade, New York, NY, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition; "1" in Number Line.

About this title

Synopsis:

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood -- the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father's eggnog, the children's house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke's story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors' poverty.Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together re-creating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth.Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate. Nowadays the Carters' large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them.With the novelist's eye that enchanted readers of his memoir "An Hour Before Daylight," Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote's "A Christmas Memory" and Dylan Thomas's "A Child's Christmas in Wales."

Review:

Jimmy Carter's Georgia hometown has been the one constant in his life, and he pays tribute to it with Christmas in Plains, a collection of holiday memories from his childhood through his Navy days, his time as Georgia governor and U.S. president, and his very active retirement. As a schoolboy, Carter looked forward to painting many-colored magnolia leaves to mix in with the holly on the mantle. His favorite way to collect mistletoe "usually at the top of oak or pecan trees and on the ends of slender limbs, was to shoot into the clump and let the bullets or buckshot cut off some sprigs." And when his godmother went to Cleveland, Ohio, one December, he asked her to bring back a snowball. It was quite some time before he realized that the large white marble she gave him was not "a real petrified snowball." Carter's memories of holding onto faith during the Christmases of his presidency are often poignant, taking place in the context of the Iranian hostage crisis and the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. And his postretirement experiences of Christmas are strangely, comfortingly familiar, characterized by jealousy of in-laws and generosity towards neighbors. --Michael Joseph Gross

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

In business since 1994. SPECIALIZING IN CHILDREN'S BOOKS: Signed, First Edition, and Out of print, from the 1930s to the present, with special emphasis on Caldecott and Newbery award-winning authors and illustrators. Most books are first printings in collectible condition. All dust jackets are covered in clear, archival-quality protective covers. EMAIL: bmader6@comcast.net

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

To reserve a book, or if you have any questions, please e-mail us at bmader6@comcast.net.

I have been selling high quality children's books since 1994 and have a record of excellent service.

WASHINGTON STATE RESIDENTS: sales tax will be added.

All dust jackets are covered with clear, archival-quality protective book jacket covers.

Book condition: I try to be clear and accurate in my grading. Abbreviations used: FINE = Fine (new or very nearly new condition; clean, bright, not price-clipped, no p...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping Terms: INTERNATIONAL ORDERS MUST SHIP BY AIR. Books are shipped at least twice a week. Books ordered shipped priority usually ship next day. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, or shipping and insurance costs range well outside our standard shipping charges, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping costs are required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal