Pavel Brycz I, City

ISBN 13: 9788086264271

I, City

3.67 avg rating
( 58 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9788086264271: I, City
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Fiction. Translated from the Czech by Joshua Cohen and Marketa Hofmeisterova. Winner of the Orten Prize and the State Prize for Literature in 2004. I, CITY is a story about the north Bohemian city of Most, an ancient city founded on a primeval wetland that was literally "relocated" to get to the brown coal beneath it. For Pavel Brycz, the youngest ever recipient of the Czech State Prize for Literature, Most is its varied inhabitants, and he as the city tell its own story through these inhabitants, who make their "appearances" in fleeting, ghost-like vignettes. As they emerge from the pollution, or from the swamp of the town's founding, we find not individuals but representatives. Theirs are historical lives that mistrust history, or that live it at least with typical irony. As Brycz makes fictional people say factual things and factual people (Kafka, the pope, Gustav Husak) say fictional things, post-modernity via magical realism makes its almost requisite--though noiseless--appearance in the best easterly European tradition of Danilo Kis or Isaac Babel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Brycz has a sharp talent for exploring life-changing historical
events through the scope of mundane, everyday occurrences. -- Think Again

The voice of Brycz's battered city rings epic and authentic, while
the translators' note offers an extensive history of Most. -- Publishers Weekly

sinuous, almost bewitching prose captures the blend of anonymity,
heterogeneity, vitality, and witness of Most and by extension nearly all
cities ... -- Henry Berry, Midwest Book Review

About the Author:

Pavel Brycz was born in 1968 in the Czech town of Roudnice nad
Labem. A graduate of Prague's Drama Academy, he worked as a copywriter for
an advertising agency where he produced the Czech slogan for KFC (roughly
translated as "damned good chicken"). He is the author of six books. I,
City was awarded the Orten Prize and in 2004 he received the State Prize
for Literature, its youngest recipient ever. In English his work has
appeared in the anthology Daylight in Nightclub Inferno (Catbird Press,
1997). Currently he teaches Czech language and literature at a Gymnasium in
Liberec, hosts a weekly children's program on Czech radio that narrates
legends from around the world, and writes lyrics for the
Balkan-chanson-folk band Zdarr.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr (2006)
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 8086264270

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Pavel Brycz
Published by Twisted Spoon Press
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Press. Paperback. Condition: New. 153 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.6in. x 0.5in.I, City is a novel about the north Bohemian city of Most, an ancient city founded on a primeval wetland literally relocated because it stood on a coal field. The city is the narrator of this unusual story telling its own story through its inhabitants, who make their appearances in fleeting, ghost-like vignettes, and Joycean epiphanies. The I is a whole consciousness enough removed from the town that it sees and knows everything, past and present. As Mosts people emerge from the pollution and swamp of the towns founding, their historical that mistrust history, with typical Czech irony. Here, in the city, fictional people say factual things and factual people (Kafka, the Pope, the last president of Communist Czechoslovakia Gustav Husak) say fictional things; this is post-modernity via Marquez and Magical Realism. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9788086264271

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Pavel Brycz
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. summoning figures from its history. I, City is many things: a novel-in-stories, a series of prose sketches in the tradition of Danilo Kis or Isaac Babel.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 153 pages. 0.249. Seller Inventory # 9788086264271

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book