Items related to Wolves in the Dark (Varg Veum): 0: Volume 19: Volume...

Wolves in the Dark (Varg Veum): 0: Volume 19: Volume 17 - Softcover

 
9781910633724: Wolves in the Dark (Varg Veum): 0: Volume 19: Volume 17
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum's life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he's accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material ...and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest - and most personal - case yet.Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, Thomas Enger, Kjell Ola Dahl, Jorn Lier Horst, Johan Theorin

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
'Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces... with some abrasive social commentary.' --Financial Times

'Veum has never before faced a case with so many loose threads, and, in untangling them, he comes to realize that neither politicians nor police officers take the plight of victimized refugee children seriously. Staalesen does a masterful job of exposing the worst of Norwegian society in this highly disturbing entry.' --Publishers Weekly

'The grand-daddy of Nordic noir has had detective Varg Veum on the go since 1977. Poor old Varg has gone from top Norwegian copper to boozed-up private eye, and things just got worse: he's been arrested for having child porn on his computer. He scrolls back through his memory to work out who might have had the motive (and the IT smarts) to fit him up, with chilling and perilous results - all told in a pleasingly dry style.' --The Times Crime Club
About the Author:
One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for crime fiction. He lives with his wife in Bergen.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherOrenda Books
  • Publication date2017
  • ISBN 10 1910633720
  • ISBN 13 9781910633724
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages272
  • Rating

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Staalesen, Gunnar; Bartlett, Don (TRN)
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 28964347-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
6.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Staalesen, Gunnar
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Soft Cover Quantity: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781910633724

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
9.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Gunnar Staalesen
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New PAP Quantity: 15
Seller:
PBShop.store US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FC-9781910633724

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
10.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Gunnar Staalesen (author), Don Bartlett (translator)
Published by Orenda 2017-06-15, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781910633724

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Staalesen, Gunnar
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Unplugged
(Amherst, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition 0.88. Seller Inventory # bk1910633720xvz189zvxnew

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Staalesen, Gunnar/ Bartlett, Don (Translator)
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 276 pages. 10.25x7.00x1.00 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1910633720

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
8.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Gunnar Staalesen
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9781910633724-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
9.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Gunnar Staalesen
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Paperback / softback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. PI Varg Veum fights for his reputation, his freedom and his life, when child pornography is found on his computer and he is arrested and jailed. Worse still, his memory is a blank. Stunning Nordic Noir. Seller Inventory # B9781910633724

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
9.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Staalesen, Gunnar
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_1910633720

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
16.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Staalesen, Gunnar
Published by Orenda Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1910633720 ISBN 13: 9781910633724
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. In. Seller Inventory # ria9781910633724_new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
10.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book