Fantazius Mallare and Count Fanny's Nuptials: Two Classics Of Erotic Decadence (Forbidden Erotic Classics)

4.56 avg rating
( 9 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781902588940: Fantazius Mallare and Count Fanny's Nuptials: Two Classics Of Erotic Decadence (Forbidden Erotic Classics)

A novel of satanic decadence in the tradition of J-K Huysmans, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the tale of a deranged recluse who declares war on reality. In his world of hallucination and twisted eroticism, Mallare needs a woman to worship him as a god; aided by Goliath, his deformed dwarf servant he entices a submissive gypsy girl whom he strives to enthrall in chains of horror and ecstasy. First published in 1922, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the second novel by famous American playwright and screenwriter Ben Hecht. The book was suppressed as obscene by the Federal Government on its initial publication, and artist Wallace Smith sent to jail. It is now published in an uncensored edition which includes all 10 original decadent/erotic illustrations by Smith. COUNT FANNY'S NUPTIALS, first published clandestinely in London in 1907, remains one of the most rare and elusive of all decadent texts. Its author "Simon Arrow” is sometimes identified as Ronald Firbank, although it seems more likely that the publisher, G. Hope Johnstone, also created it. This joint edition of FANTAZIUS MALLARE and COUNT FANNY'S NUPTIALS constitutes a volume of rare and unadulterated erotic decadence which stands as the final flourish of the genre.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ben Hecht (1894-1964) was an American screenwriter, director, producer, playwright, and novelist. Called "the Shakespeare of Hollywood", he received screen credits, alone or in collaboration, for the stories or screenplays of some 70 films and as a prolific storyteller, authored 35 books and created some of the most entertaining screenplays and plays in America.

, or Ronald Firbank, the publisher, G. Hope Johnstone.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:

It had been a long vigil, and the three sisters - thinking it may be over much of love - had grown a little languid in waiting for the Royal lover. Lucy, hidden in the softness of a thousand frills, trembled ever so slightly, with fear or with longing as may be, at the thought of approaching possibilities. Mrs Birchman, raising the lid from a large ointment jar, commenced to rouge her lips and breasts heavily, smiling approval into a small hand-mirror upon the lavish use of the pigment. Moll loosened her bodice, and laying aside for a moment the copy of Love And Louisa which she was reading, expressed her impatience in gestures which were frankly sensual. Poor Moll, she had once been a very gallant lady indeed! And even now, when youth's lilies were faded, she was adorned with the esoteric blossoms of unguentarian art, and Moll still had a certain success among the Mashers and the Beaux. It was twilight, and the pale acacias, stirred by a fitful breeze, seemed to weep that the day had died so soon, covering the green lawns with the purity of their summer snows and lending to the surroundings an indefinable air of chastity. Mrs Birchman perceived this and took it as a delicate compliment, puffing out her breasts, and pluming herself, in a manner that was attractive enough, the very moths growing careless of nature and abandoning the flowers to hover in the fragrance of the scented rouge. A cuckoo that had solved the problem of poverty passed on its way to rest, and already the fire-flies could be seen gleaming in the shadows; a love-bird in a neighbouring coppice was in the midst of one of the most amorous little thrills imaginable, when - Count Fanny was seen to be approaching. There was a veritable flutter in the dove-cot, and I should blush were I to relate the astonishing stratagems to which Mrs Birchman was put in order to conceal the telltale jar! Nor would it be easy to describe the ravishing appearance of the adorable Count, for the exquisite Marquis de Parabère himself might have paled with envy at the sight of such preciosity, and surely Monsieur Racinet would have added yet another chapter to his already exhaustive work upon La Costume Historique, had he been so fortunate as to have beheld the delicate indiscretion of Count Fanny's pantaloons! He wore canary kid boots - with fourteen buttons and the most fascinating little heels - silk stockings, a false bust, and - Ave Maria! the tiniest little purple moustache in the world ...

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ben Hecht, Simon Arrow
Published by CREATION BOOKS, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CREATION BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A novel of satanic decadence in the tradition of J-K Huysmans, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the tale of a deranged recluse who declares war on reality. In his world of hallucination and twisted eroticism, Mallare needs a woman to worship him as a god; aided by Goliath, his deformed dwarf servant he entices a submissive gypsy girl whom he strives to enthrall in chains of horror and ecstasy. First published in 1922, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the second novel by famous American playwright and screenwriter Ben Hecht. The book was suppressed as obscene by the Federal Government on its initial publication, and artist Wallace Smith sent to jail. It is now published in an uncensored edition which includes all 10 original decadent/erotic illustrations by Smith. COUNT FANNY S NUPTIALS, first published clandestinely in London in 1907, remains one of the most rare and elusive of all decadent texts. Its author Simon Arrow is sometimes identified as Ronald Firbank, although it seems more likely that the publisher, G. Hope Johnstone, also created it. This joint edition of FANTAZIUS MALLARE and COUNT FANNY S NUPTIALS constitutes a volume of rare and unadulterated erotic decadence which stands as the final flourish of the genre. Bookseller Inventory # AAT9781902588940

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ben Hecht, Simon Arrow
Published by Creation Books
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Creation Books. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Fantazius Mallare & Count Fanny's Nuptials: Two Classics of Erotic Decadence, Ben Hecht, Simon Arrow. Bookseller Inventory # B9781902588940

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ben Hecht, Simon Arrow
Published by CREATION BOOKS, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CREATION BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A novel of satanic decadence in the tradition of J-K Huysmans, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the tale of a deranged recluse who declares war on reality. In his world of hallucination and twisted eroticism, Mallare needs a woman to worship him as a god; aided by Goliath, his deformed dwarf servant he entices a submissive gypsy girl whom he strives to enthrall in chains of horror and ecstasy. First published in 1922, FANTAZIUS MALLARE is the second novel by famous American playwright and screenwriter Ben Hecht. The book was suppressed as obscene by the Federal Government on its initial publication, and artist Wallace Smith sent to jail. It is now published in an uncensored edition which includes all 10 original decadent/erotic illustrations by Smith. COUNT FANNY S NUPTIALS, first published clandestinely in London in 1907, remains one of the most rare and elusive of all decadent texts. Its author Simon Arrow is sometimes identified as Ronald Firbank, although it seems more likely that the publisher, G. Hope Johnstone, also created it. This joint edition of FANTAZIUS MALLARE and COUNT FANNY S NUPTIALS constitutes a volume of rare and unadulterated erotic decadence which stands as the final flourish of the genre. Bookseller Inventory # AAT9781902588940

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hecht, Ben/ Arrow, Simon
Published by Wet Angel Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wet Angel Books, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 160 pages. 8.75x5.50x0.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __1902588940

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ben Hecht; Simon Arrow
Published by Wet Angel Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wet Angel Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1902588940

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 14.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hecht, Ben, Arrow, Simon
Published by Wet Angel Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wet Angel Books, 2014. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9781902588940-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 20.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hecht, Ben; Arrow, Simon
Published by Wet Angel Books
ISBN 10: 1902588940 ISBN 13: 9781902588940
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Wet Angel Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1902588940 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1722072

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 55.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds