The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

3.86 avg rating
( 616 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846485589: The Redemption of Alexander Seaton
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Is the young man merely drunk or does his tottering walk suggest something more sinister? When he collapses, vomiting, over the two whores who find him on that dark wet night, they guess rightly that he's been murdered by poisoning. So begins this gripping tale set in the town of Banff, Scotland in the 1620s. The body of the victim, the apothecary's nephew, is found in Alexander Seaton's school house. Seaton is a school master by default, and a persona non-grata in the town - a disgraced would-be minister whose love affair with a local aristocrat's daughter left him disgraced and deprived of his vocation. He has few friends, so when one of them is accused of the murder, he sets out to solve the crime, embarking on a journey that will uncover witchcraft, cruelty, prejudice and the darkness in men's souls. It is also a personal quest that leads Alexander to the rediscovery of his faith in God as well as his belief in himself. Among her many strengths, Shona MacLean is brilliant at evoking period and place. You feel you are in those cold, dark, northern rooms, eavesdropping on her characters. You are totally involved in the rich, convincing world she has re-created.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Such is the quality of the recreation, not only of the reeking ebb and flow of everyday life but also of the period mindset that it's easy to believe Satan is walking abroad ... this is an accomplished and thought-provoking debut' Guardian. (Guardian)

Book Description:

A sleuth to rival Shardlake or Cadfael - a mystery that will chill your blood. A must-read for fans of Rory Clements and SJ Parris.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

MacLean, Shona
Published by Oakhill Publishing Limited
ISBN 10: 1846485584 ISBN 13: 9781846485589
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Phatpocket Limited
(Waltham Abbey, HERTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oakhill Publishing Limited. Condition: Like New. Used - Like New. Seller Inventory # Z1-C-088-02245

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
113.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds