Bracht, Mary Lynn White Chrysanthemum

ISBN 13: 9781784741440

White Chrysanthemum

4.3 avg rating
( 2,510 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781784741440: White Chrysanthemum
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'Look for your sister after each dive. Never forget. If you see her, you are safe.'Hana and her little sister Emi are part of an island community of haenyeo, women who make their living from diving deep into the sea off the southernmost tip of Korea., One day Hana sees a Japanese soldier heading for where Emi is guarding the day's catch on the beach. Her mother has told her again and again never to be caught alone with one. Terrified for her sister, Hana swims as hard as she can for the shore., So begins the story of two sisters suddenly and violently separated by war. Switch-backing between Hana in 1943 and Emi as an old woman today, White Chrysanthemum takes us into a dark and devastating corner of history. But pulling us back into the light are two women whose love for one another is strong enough to triumph over the evils of war., A riveting, immersive read in the vein of The Kite Runner and Memoirs of a Geisha.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"I read it in one sitting" (Kate Kellaway Observer)

"I would also recommend Mary-Lynn Bracht’s novel White Chrysanthemum, a story of family separation in Korea during the 20th century. I learned a lot about Korean culture in this book, but it also has a sweeping story that captivates the reader" (John Boyne Irish Times Summer Reads)

"I read Hana and Emi's story with my heart in my mouth... A bold, devastating, important novel shot through with hope and beauty" (Rachel Joyce)

"Introduces a heart-rending seam of history... Bracht has fashioned her own memorial to the comfort women. White Chrysanthemum is a timely and furiously felt book" (Rowan Hisayo Buchanan Guardian)

"A hugely affecting, captivating read -- I cried for most of the second half" (Sarah Shaffi Stylist)

"It's jaw-dropping, it's devastating, it's heart-breaking and absolutely beautiful. I couldn't recommend it more" (Sinead Moriarty)

"Beautifully written... In elegant but emotionally devastating prose Bracht conveys the heartbreaking impact of brutality and war upon women" (Charlotte Heathcote Sunday Express)

"Bracht's rich detail and captivating characters bring history vividly to life. An insightful, engaging and deeply emotional page-turner" (Scotsman)

"If you're a fan of The Kite Runner and Memoirs of A Geisha, you'll love Mary Lynn Bracht's novel... Both educating and engaging, Bracht’s rich detail and captivating characters plunge you into Korean history in a heartbreaking and deeply emotional page-turner" (Rebecca Wilcock i newspaper)

"An evocative picture of loss and also an account of how one of the deepest human bonds can survive almost anything" (James Naughtie BBC Radio 4 Today Programme)

Book Description:

The heartbreaking story of Korea during the Second World War is brought to life in this gripping, redemptive debut about two sisters.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780735214439: White Chrysanthemum

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0735214433 ISBN 13:  9780735214439
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018
Hardcover

9780525524243: White Chrysanthemum (Random House Large Print)

Random..., 2018
Softcover

9781784741457: White Chrysanthemum

Chatto..., 2018
Softcover

9780735218390: White Chrysanthemum Mrexp

Pengui..., 2018
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mary Lynn Bracht
Published by Chatto & Windus, UK (2018)
ISBN 10: 1784741442 ISBN 13: 9781784741440
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Tee Books
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Chatto & Windus, UK, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. 1 3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2. Seller Inventory # 002929

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Mary Lynn Bracht
Published by Chatto & Windus, London (2018)
ISBN 10: 1784741442 ISBN 13: 9781784741440
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Fiction First
(Congleton, United Kingdom)

Book Description Chatto & Windus, London, 2018. Hard Cover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. A fine unread 1st impression in a fine dustwrapper. Signed by the Author on the title page. Signed by Author. Seller Inventory # 008468

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 22
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds